ANTRE premiere first track from debut album, Void

Nottingham-based black metallers, ANTRE, have unveiled the first track from their upcoming debut album, Void. The track, Tyrant, is now available across all streaming platforms, and has an accompanying video which is premiering via Echoes & Dust. The 9 track album will be releasedvia Withered Hand Records on 22 February, 2019.


Of the video, the band comments:
“Tyrant is a short, sharp statement of intent, feeding on humanity’s destructive nature to deliver a bolt of cold metal into the face of 2019. The video was created ourselves, filmed in the dark at legendary Nottingham practice and recording space Stuck on a Name using the Encyclopaedia of Witchcraft and Demonology for visual inspiration.”

ANTRE  – who take their name from the old English word for cave or cavern – self-recorded the tracks that make up Void in an old church. The band pull on threads from death metal, thrash and hardcore, and weave them into a dense back drop of black metal to create a claustrophobic and intense atmosphere. ANTRE is born from – and exists – in the place we all retreat to in moments of despair. The lyrical concepts explored on Void draw from stories and narratives that evoke feelings of internal human darkness and destruction. Those claustrophobic thought patterns are punctuated by moments of clear reflection, expressed in the stripped back, acoustic tracks. 

Featuring members of Crumbling Ghost, Pombagira and Megalodoom, ANTRE have a DIY ethos that underpins their band activities. Even the cover artwork was created by guitarist, Chris, who scratched the paint into the canvas to symbolise falling into the darkest of places.

Having already played shows with Winterfylleth, Wode and The Infernal Sea, ANTRE are already mapping out live activity for 2019. Their split 7″ with fellow Nottingham-based band, Underdark, was featured on Bandcamp’s top selling list for black metal upon release. 

Void track list

1. Suffer The Light
2. Fear The Old Blood
3. Denisovan
4. Into Oblivion
5. Tyrant
6 Guided By Nightmares
7. The Frozen Deep
8. Infinite Abyss
9. Beyond These Skies

ANTRE will play the following shows:

19 January – The Old Angel, Nottingham with Witchsorrow, Bast & Underdark

1 February – The County Music Bar, Chesterfield with Wolvencrown

3 March – The Phoenix, Coventry with Kurokuma & Blind Monarch

More show announcements will follow.


Vox: Patrick MacDonald.
Guitar: Chris Marsland
Guitar: Donny Hopkins
Bass: Dan Oldcorn
Drums: Barry Chadwick
Void will be released on February 22, 2019.

Related posts

Black metal quintet ANTRE included on Cyberpunk 2077 soundtrack


UK black metal group ANTRE release new single & announce new EP


ANTRE premiere ‘Suffer The Light’ video via Revolver; album pre-orders now available


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More