STEVE HACKETT launches video for ‘Beasts In Our Time’

Following the tremendous success of 2017’s ‘The Night Siren’ (charted at #22 in Germany, #28 in the UK), legendary former Genesis guitarist Steve Hackett announces the release of his new studio album ‘At The Edge Of Light’ on the 25th January 2019. The album which features ten songs, sees Steve unite a vast amount of styles ranging from guitar driven rock to epic orchestration, from world music to the reflective and atmospheric all brought together in Steve Hackett’s unique style.

Today sees the release of the third single from the album, titled ‘Beasts In Our Time’, accompanied by a brand new video which you can watch here:

Steve comments: “The track ‘Beasts In Our Time’ is the main thrust of this album, exposing fear, greed and intolerance. The eagle in the video symbolises the hatred and violence which nationalism breeds… and the clown, deceptive destructive forces which masquerade as fun and innocuous. We live in dangerous times where we stand on the edge of an abyss… But there is still the hope that the light of compassion can still win through.

Watch Steve discuss the new album in this new interview:

Listen to the previously released tracks ‘Underground Railroad’ & ‘Under The Eye Of The Sun’ below:
Underground Railroad:
Under The Eye Of The Sun:

‘At The Edge Of Light’ is released on a number of formats including a Mediabook CD plus extra DVD with 5.1 surround sound mix & behind the scenes documentary, double vinyl LP + CD, Jewelcase CD and digital album. Pre-order now here:

Steve Hackett has established himself as one of Rock music’s finest and recognisable guitarists through his time with the legendary Genesis who he joined in 1971 and a solo career following his departure from Genesis in 1977 and is a hugely influential guitarist particularly in the Progressive Rock genre.  ‘At The Edge Of Light’ will be Hackett’s 26th studio album in a solo career that began in 1975 with the release of his debut solo album Voyage Of The Acolyte.

‘At The Edge Of Light’ was mainly recorded in Steve’s own studio but also around the world.   The album features international artists, including Durga and Loreley of Pink Floyd vocal fame with drummers Nick D’Virgilio and Simon Phillips from USA, Sheema on sitar from India, Icelandic drummer/percussionist Gulli Briem, tar player Malik Mansurov and Swedish bass player Jonas Reingold… This album also features Paul Stillwell on didgeridoo, Rob Townsend on sax, bass clarinet and duduk, Amanda Lehmann on vocals, John Hackett on flute, drummer Gary O’Toole, Roger King and Ben Fenner on keyboards, Dick Driver on double bass, violinist and viola player Christine Townsend… All magically honed and engineered by Roger King.

The full track-listing is as follows:
1. Fallen Walls and Pedestals
2. Beasts In Our Time
3. Under The Eye of the Sun
4. Underground Railroad
5. Those Golden Wings
6. Shadow and Flame
7. Hungry Years
8. Descent
9. Conflict
10. Peace

The album is released shortly before Steve performs as special guest on the Cruise To The Edge in February 2019 and the On The Blue cruise featuring Justin Hayward, also in February.

Hackett will spend most of 2019 touring the much anticipated ‘Selling England By The Pound & Spectral Mornings & Album Highlights’ set. You can find a full list of upcoming tour dates here:

22 April – Kursaal Oostende Oostende, BELGIUM 
23 April – Laeiszhalle Hamburg, GERMANY
24 April – TonHalle Munich, GERMANY
26 April – Hegel – Saal Stuttgart, GERMANY
27 April – Museumsquartie Vienna, AUSTRIA
29 April – Teatro Brancaccio Rome, ITALY
30 April – EuropAuditorium Bologna, ITALY
2 May – Teatro Colosseo Turin, ITALY 
3 May – Teatro Creberg Bergamo, ITALY 
5 May – Haus Auensee Leipzig, GERMANY
6 May – Earth Hall Poznan, POLAND 
7 May – Klub Studio Krakow, POLAND 
9 May – Compensa Hall Vilnius, LITHUANIA 
10 May – Alexela Concert Hall Tallinn, ESTONIA 
11 May – Circus Helsinki, FINLAND 
13 May – Nalen Stockholm, SWEDEN – * SOLD OUT *
14 May – Sentrum Scene Oslo, NORWAY
15 May – Pustervik Gothenburg, SWEDEN 
16 May – Amager Bio Copenhagen, DENMARK
18 May – Posten Odense, DENMARK 
19 May – Train Aarhus, DENMARK 
21 May – Lichtburg Essen, GERMANY – * SOLD OUT *
22 May – Cultuurpodium Boerderij Zoetermeer, NETHERLANDS – * SOLD OUT *
23 May – Cultuurpodium Boerderij Zoetermeer, NETHERLANDS – * SOLD OUT *
24 May – Cultuurpodium Boerderij Zoetermeer, NETHERLANDS – * SOLD OUT *
26 May – Rockhal Club Esch-sur-Alzette, LUXEMBOURG
27 May – Trianon Paris, FRANCE 
28 May – Volkshaus Zurich, SWITZERLAND 
29 May – Zitadelle (outdoor venue) Mainz, GERMANY 
31 May – Hall 1, National Palace of Culture (NDK Hall 1) Sofia, BULGARIA 
5 June – Mediterranean Conference Centre (MCC) Valletta, MALTA

About Steve Hackett:
Steve Hackett is renowned as an immensely talented and innovative rock musician. He was lead guitarist with Genesis as part of their classic line up with Gabriel, Collins, Banks and Rutherford, who produced several of the band’s most acclaimed albums including Selling England by the Pound (a favourite of John Lennon) and The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway. With Steve’s extraordinary versatility in both his electric guitar playing and his composing, he involves influences from many genres, including Jazz, World Music, Classical music and Blues.


Related posts

STEVE HACKETT launches ‘Afterglow (Live at the Royal Festival Hall, London)’!


STEVE HACKETT launches ‘The Steppes (Live at the Royal Festival Hall, London)’! “Genesis Revisited Band & Orchestra: Live” out on 25th October!


STEVE HACKETT releases ‘Peace’ video! “Genesis Revisited Band & Orchestra: Live at the Royal Festival Hall” out on 25th October!


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.