A NOVELIST – Prog-Death Duo Premiere “His Kingdom is Vast” At Indy Metal Vault

Louisiana-based progressive death metal project A Novelist recently announced the upcoming February 8th, 2019 release of their sophomore full-length, Folie. The band once again enlisted the talents of renowned sound engineer Jamie King (Between The Buried And Me, Wretched, etc.) to ensure the best possible production for their new album.

A Novelist is the creative partnership of drummer Alex Babineaux and vocalist, guitarist, and multi-instrumentalist Ben Nugent. Started in 2009 between friends in Lafayette, Louisiana, they began with the simple goal of writing and playing death metal. Over time their goals as a band grew larger, driven by a bold desire to expand the idea of what death metal can be through free and uncompromised expression.

Today the band partnered with Indy Metal Vault to launch “His Kingdom is Vast”, the fourth single to air from their upcoming second full-length, Folie. Set for release on Friday, February 8th.

Indy Metal Vault comments on today’s premiere of “His Kingdom is Vast”
One doesn’t need to spend very long with the album, though, to notice that drummer Alex Babineaux and vocalist/multi-instrumentalist Ben Nugent’s music may be grounded in death metal, but they have no real use for genre conventions or constraints. In fact, the cover art isn’t the only thing that reminds me of The Mars Volta – there’s a similar sense of daring in their music as well in the way that they draw from all points on the musical spectrum from jazz to post-hardcore to tech-death. Alaska or Colors-era Between the Buried and Me – which (perhaps not coincidentally) were both produced by Jamie King, who also handled the recording on Foile – also make for good points of comparison regarding their approach.”

If you wanted to, you could pick apart the song’s structure and marvel at the way they move so effortlessly and effectively from super-techy, 500-notes-a-minute sections to melodic, mid-tempo back metal riffing to atmospheric post-hardcore passages with soaring vocals. Or you could turn your brain off, pop in your earbuds, and just enjoy the ride.”

A Novelist – Folie Track Listing
1. Folie Noire
2. Exteriors
3. Tombeau
4. Apparitions
5. His Kingdom is Vast
6. Strangers in the House of Auto-da-Fe
7. Acacia Crown
8. Caveat Lector
9. Stockholm Blues
10. Crestfallen
11. Learning Paralysis
12. Interiors

A Novelist – Folie Line-Up 
Ben Nugent – Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Keys, Effects (Nethermost Majesty)
Alex Babineaux – Drums (Nethermost Majesty) 

A Novelist Social Media Links

Related posts

A NOVELIST – Progressive Death Metal Duo Premiere Guitar Playthrough For “Exteriors” At Gear Gods. New album Folie out now


A NOVELIST – Prog-Death Duo Premiere Folie Album Stream At Invisible Oranges


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.