WASTE OF SPACE ORCHESTRA (Oranssi Pazuzu x Dark Buddha Rising) reveal album details

The awe-inspiring Finnish metallic psychedelicists, Oranssi Pazuzu and their Tampere cohorts, Dark Buddha Rising, have recorded a new album, which will be released on Svart Records on April 5, 2019. The amalgam of these two ritualistic entities is united as one on Syntheosis, and will be released under the monikerWASTE OF SPACE ORCHESTRA. Today the album artwork and track listing has been announced, and pre-orders are now available.

Syntheosis began life as a performance commissioned by Roadburn Festival for the 2018 edition of the internationally renowned four-day event. The first project of its kind for the Dutch genre-spanning festival paved the way for a new kind of creativity which was embraced wholeheartedly by the Finnish ensemble. Prepared over several months in the lead up to April 2018, Syntheosis was performed on the main stage on the opening day of Roadburn to a rapturous crowd of over 3,000 attendees, complemented with carefully coordinated visuals.

Rather than a live recording of the unique performance, the album is a studio interpretation of Syntheosis, which was carefully prepared over spring and summer 2018 by the ten musicians involved in the project.  The album was recorded and mixed by Julius Mauranen who also worked on Oranssi Pazuzu’s Värähtelijä.

Syntheosis is both a challenging yet engaging psych-metal album and a dimension spanning one hour performance consisting of nine parts. The record recounts a story of three beings and their deep search for knowledge:

  • The Shaman (Vesa Ajomo) is seeing oppressing visions from the bleak future of mankind.
  • The Seeker (Juho Vanhanen) is searching for the truth from unknown dimensions with secret methods.
  • The Possessor (Marko Neuman) corrupts the other individuals, manipulating them into his own sinister plan

A ceremony ends up in the opening of a portal, which sucks the three beings into an alien dimension, which is populated by brain-mutilating color storms and ego-diminishing audio violence. Eventually, the three are forced to reach equilibrium and melt their minds into one collective consciousness.

Waste of Space Orchestra is:
Vesa Ajomo – voice of the shaman, guitar
Toni Hietamäki – bass guitar
Niko Lehdontie – guitar, effects
Ville Leppilahti – keyboards, effects
Marko Neuman – voice of the possessor
Jukka Rämänen – drums
Petri Rämänen – deep bass guitar
Jussi Saarivuori – electronics
Jarkko Salo – drums
Juho Vanhanen – voice of the seeker, guitar

Syntheosis track list

1. Void Monolith
2. The Shamanic Vision
3. Seeker’s Reflection
4. Journey to the Centre of Mass
5. Wake Up the Possessor
6. Infinite Gate Opening
7. Vacuum Head
8. The Universal Eye
9. Syntheosis

Svart Records will release WASTE OF SPACE ORCHESTRA‘s Syntheosis worldwide on CD, double-LP vinyl, and digital formats on April 5, 2019 – pre-orders are now available. In the meantime, see & hear a special trailer for the album HERE at Svart‘s official YouTube channel.

Related posts

WASTE OF SPACE ORCHESTRA stream album ahead of Friday release


WASTE OF SPACE ORCHESTRA Unveils “Seeker’s Reflection” Video; Syntheosis Full-Length To See Release This April Via Svart Records


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.