USDM Squad CONTRARIAN Streaming New Song: “My Curse”

U.S. progressive Death Metal squad CONTRARIAN have joined forces with Metal Injection for the premiere of “My Curse,” a song from forthcoming album Their Worm Never Dies (Willowtip Records). 
Stream “My Curse”
CONTRARIAN will release Their Worm Never Dies March 15 on Willowtip Records.
Preorder via Willowtip  
Preorder via Bandcamp   
A new school of old school death metal. Creating death metal that is authentically new while have a natural memory and understanding of the old. Rooted in early 90’s progressive death metal, but with an unrelenting forward thinking approach, CONTRARIAN return with their third full-length release Their Worm Never Dies.
Spearheaded by guitar player Jim Tasikas, alongside George Kollias (Nile) simultaneously handling drum and vocal duties, CONTRARIAN is not a super group, but a unit of like-minded musicians that coincidentally converged on a vision of what a modern death metal band should sound like. 

Organic sounding, yet aggressive and melodically complex, Their Worm Never Diesis packed with snake-like Schuldinerian-style riffage and atmospheric variations that will provide a wholly enticing listen to all those willing to take in its eccentricity. Stream another album track, “Exorcism,” at
“Contrarian should please both old-school heads and modern death metal fiends equally.”
 – Metal Injection
“Progressive tech-death that bridges the divide between Death, Cynic, and new school manifestations Obscura and Beyond Creation.”
 – Decibel
“CONTRARIAN’s sound pays homage to the Tech/Progressive Death Metal forefathers DEATH, ATHEIST, CYNIC. The musicianship is excellent, the compositions are tight, and you have to love the riffs.” 
 – Metal Temple
“It’s fucking excellent!”
 – Heavy Blog is Heavy
“Listeners who appreciated Death’s progressive era, and would prefer a little Cynic influence thrown in as well, should pick this one up.”
 – Metal Reviews
“This is progressive death metal at its finest.”
 – The Metal Channel
“Contrarian is one of those few bands that can claim to take over the torch of Schuldiner and therefore Death.”
 – Chronicles in the Abyss
“A gallery of great solos, a mixture of fluid styles and compositional quality.”
– El Comenta Mierda
 “If Schuldiner were still around, there’s no question the sound Contrarian currently concoct is the route Death would’ve taken.”
 – Technical Music Review
“I encourage you to reach for Their Worm Never Dies, for all those who love what Death, Pestilence, Cynic and other similar bands do.”
 – Death Magnetic
Track Listing
1. Vaskania (The Evil Eye)
2. Exorcism
3. My Curse
4. The Petition
5. Among The Misled
6. Their Worm Never Dies
7. Whomsoever Worships the Whiteworm

Album Credits

Jim Tasikas – Guitars
Brian Mason – Lead Guitars
Ed Paulsen – Bass
George Kollias – Drums/Vocals

Additional Backing Vocals by George Bokos

Recorded at Watchmen Studios, Lockport, NY USA and Burnt Orange Studiosm Brandenton, FL USA

Produced, Mixed and Mastered by George Bokos at Grindhouse Studios Athens, GR

Related posts

No Clean Singing Premieres CONTRARIAN Album ‘Only Time Will Tell’


Progressive DM Squad CONTRARIAN Premiere New Song: “The Mega-Metropolis”


CONTRARIAN Release Drum Playthrough Video for “Scarlet Babylon”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.