FOLIAN – CVLT Nation debuts first single from the Portland based metallic drone/shoegaze project’s upcoming EP “Ache Pillars”

FOLIAN is the metallic drone/shoegaze venture of Portland, OR based multi-instrumentalist David S. Fylstra. David is associated with many other heavy and experimental bands such as RamprasadDrowse (live member), Bible Black Tyrant (featuring Eagle Twin‘s Tyler Smith and Aaron Edge), Kvøid and Canadensis. Impending EP, Ache Pillars, is slated for release on 22nd March 2019 via Apneic Void Sounds on limited edition cassette format.

The first single “Ghost In The Flesh” is premiered via CVLT Nation.

“It’s mostly a ‘seeing light in the dark’ kind of thing. There are times in life we feel totally out of place, lost, or invisible. The world can be a very strange and frustrating place to deal with, but there is some comfort in knowing that all the negativity adds up to dust in the end, and we’ll all be freed into the eternal field of nothingness. It’s a simple, uplifting thing to be aware of, and reminds me to focus on the moment, working to find a way in this world that is a healthy escape from the shit.”, describes David on the subject of the track.  

Stream Ghost In The Flesh RIGHT HERE via CVLT Nation

Also available for streamingon SPOTIFY

FOLIAN manages to blend elements of drone, metal, shoegaze, and noise into hauntingly somber and psychedelic atmospheres, expressing subject matter which stems from real life experiences with dreams, depression, love, fear, and nature. Folian often uses video projection to accompany the sounds in a live setting, making for a unique, entrancing audio/visual experience.

Folian’s newest 4-song EP “Ache Pillars” takes us on a short, yet wholly immersive sonic journey, exploring ideas of detachment, escapism, indifference, and sorrow. The music within was recorded and mixed by Fylstra in his home studio in Portland, OR. Fylstra primarily used processed guitar, synth, and various other instruments to create and manipulate the sounds within.

“Ache Pillars” will be released digitally and on limited edition, handmade/hand-dubbed cassettes via Apneic Void Sounds on March 22nd, 2019.

David S. Fylstra – guitars, minologue, pedals, vocal cords, mini harp, Zoom RT-123, melodica, cymbals, bells, and harmonica.

Recorded & Mixed by David S. Fylstra

Mastered by Zach Weeks

Cover art by Crystal Lee Lucas

PRE-ORDER “Ache Pillars”:

West Coast US Tour Dates w/ Troubled By Insects:

4/5 Portland,OR @ Boathouse Experimental Studio
w/ Troubled By Insects, Body Shame, Terror Apart, ///supersun///

4/6 Seattle,WA @ Hollow Earth Radio
w/ Troubled By Insects, Nostalgist, Kole Galbraith 

4/7 Olympia,WA @ TBA
w/ Troubled By Insects, + TBA

4/8 Eugene,OR @ Old Nick’s Pub
w/ Troubled By Insects, + TBA


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.