VANANIDR set release date for PURITY THROUGH FIRE debut – streaming now

Purity ThroughFire sets April 4th as the international release date for the striking debut album of Vananidr, simply self-titled Vananidr.

Originally self-released digitally, Vananidr might be Vananidr‘s first public recording, but the band’s history stretches back many years – which is immediately evident once the listener is presented with such black metal of an ancient vintage.

Vananidr‘s history begins in the mid ’90s when Titan (now in IXXI) forms the band Hydra. In 1999, he is accompanied by Anders Eriksson AKA Flame (guitar), Erebus (vocals), and Thunder (drums, now also in IXXI). Over the next five years, they record several demos and an album titled Phaedra. When recordings for the second album are begun, Erebus quits the band and the following year Titan also quits. In 2010, Anders picks up the pieces of the unfinished recordings and records the vocals himself, and the album is finally finished under a new band name: Synodus Horrenda. Progress is slow, but in 2017, Anders completes a new album with Thunder on drums and later changes the band name once again to the more suiting Vananidr.

With Anders now the only remaining member from the Hydra years since Thunder disappeared along the way, at last is Vananidr‘s self-titled album prepared to breathe cold, cryptic life into classicist, ’90s-style black metal. Somber, shadowy, and evoking a woodland mysticism, Vananidr weaves an extremely subtle-but-intense spell, as melodies from Swedish folk music rise to the fore above steadily pulsing & winding blackness that’s neither overly raw nor too polished. While song titles such as “Warfare” and “Raging Blizzards” might suggest a more violent aspect to Vananidr – and indeed, the album begins with a bang – the likes of “Frostbitten Kingdom” and especially “Enter Eternity” or more telling of its tale…

Like many records under the Purity ThroughFire banner, the past is truly alive with Vananidr‘s Vananidr! In the meantime, hear Vananidr in its entirety HERE. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Vananidr’s Vananidr
1. Raging Blizzards
2. Frostbitten Kingdom
3. Abomination of Evil
4. Projections
5. Rise
6. Warfare
7. Enter Eternity
8. Psalm till Döden


Related posts

Swedish Black Metallers VANANIDR share new music video for “Dressed In Pain”!


Swedish Black Metallers VANANIDR announce new album and share music video for “Awake”!


VANANIDR set release date for new PURITY THROUGH FIRE album, reveal first track


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More