OF VIRTUE – announce new album, release lyric video for 1st single

Rising Michigan metal band OF VIRTUE will release their awaited new album, »What Defines You«, with SharpTone Records on May 24th. Today, the band has revealed a brand-new single titled ‘No Control,’ which is now streamable via a lyric video and on all major streaming services. The label has also launched a pre-order for the new record that can be found at


“’No Control’ was written from the perspective of someone who has never fit into any specific mold. Those nights we spend awake, wandering in our own thoughts considering what we can do to change the course of where we are headed and the realization that if we don’t do something, we are damned to repeat the same mistakes, staying in the same cycle of misery – only because we feel we have ‘No Control.’” – OF VIRTUE

OF VIRTUE’s new record, »What Defines You«, further establishes the band as a one of Michigan’s finest metal bands to emerge in years. The band’s dynamic mix of hardcore, metal and rock along with their positive lyrics for the downtrodden and explosive live performances help separate them from the cluttered scene.

“»What Defines You« is a testament to anyone who has been told to give up, been beaten down by life, for those who believe that they aren’t good enough, those who struggle to dream, or see beyond their own circumstances. With »What Defines You« we chose to tell ourselves that we will construct our own future, for better or for worse, through hard work, dedication, and learning from our past.” – OF VIRTUE

Suffer” Music Video –
Surrounded” Music Video –
Torn Apart” Music Video –

OF VIRTUE quickly gained a diehard local following amongst the Michigan metal community with the release of their breakout EP »To Breathe Again«and debut full-length record »Heartsounds«.  The band proved they had a knack for combining relentless, aggressive metalcore with driving, powerful lyricism and flashes of ambient, catchy post-hardcore and alternative rock. The band continued to grow and refine their sound, emerging once more in 2015 with »Salvation«, a critically acclaimed record that would serve as the backbone of their live performance. »Salvation«—and the follow-up single ‘Ghost Town’—would earn OF VIRTUE tours throughout the continental United States, much of Europe and the United Kingdom and more, with shows just as intense back home in Michigan as they are in Manchester.

OF VIRTUE’s incessant touring and dedication to bringing their music to as many sets of ears as possible would land them a spot on SharpTone Records’impressive roster in late 2018, with a highly anticipated full-length album in toe, set to showcase the band’s further maturation and exploration with the infusion of alternative and hard rock into their metalcore foundation. By combining a positive message with a penchant for touring, punishing aggression and passionate songwriting, OF VIRTUE are the next in a long lineage of Michigan based metal acts to “make it big,” with an explosive start to 2019 and only brighter things to follow.

OF VIRTUE is Tyler Ennis (Vocalist), Damon Tate (Guitarist), Michael Valadez (Guitarist), Jon Fox (Bassist), and Kyle Pruehs (Drummer).

OF VIRTUE North American Tour Dates:
April 18 – Okemos, MI – Celebration Cinema (VIP Listening Party w/Of Virtue)
April 19 – Pontiac, MI – Pike Room @ The Crofoot
April 20 – Lansing, MI – The Loft

»What Defines« You Tracklisting:

  1. No Control
  2. Alone
  3. Suffer
  4. Immortal
  5. Thanks For Nothing
  6. Pictures of You (ft. Kalie Wolfe)
  7. I Won’t Break
  8. Surrounded
  9. Torn Apart
  10. Confide In Me | |

Related posts

OF VIRTUE – announce January tour dates with labelmates IN SEARCH OF SOLACE


OF VIRTUE – »What Defines You« out now, music video for ‘Alone’


OF VIRTUE – music video for ‘Thanks For Nothing’, Eu tour kicks off soon


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More