FALSE announce upcoming album and stream first track

FALSE have announced details of their forthcoming album, titled Portent. The first track to be taken from the album, A Victual to Our Dead Selves, is currently streaming via Revolver. Portent will be released via Gilead Media on July 12. Pre-orders are available now.


Of the track, guitarist Jimmy C comments: “Throughout the years, FALSE have watched one another not only sacrifice and suffer, but grow and become more full versions of themselves. Throughout it all, we had one another to count on for guidance, empathy, and support. This song is a manifestation of that continued growth and self-actualization with and through one another. It is our full beings, and a celebration of all that shaped us and what we cast off to become a more intrinsic whole.” 

Lead vocalist and lyricist, Rachel adds, “We have a longstanding history with one another that includes much strife as it does triumph. Together, we have grown into resilient beings. Our strength lies in the suffering we have been through together – any challenges faces are more surmountable and any triumphs are by comparison even sweeter.”

FALSE have delivered the most pivotal record of their career in Portent. A redefining of the extreme underground, Portent sees the band harness their shared experiences of pain and loss, and use that energy to create a truly monumental album of American black metal that is expansive, engrossing, daring, and above all, congruent. Three tracks span the width and scope of the band’s approach to the genre. The defining trait of the band reveals itself from the onset; the urgency in Portent is palpable.

Album opener A Victual to Our Dead Selves explodes out of the darkest corners and overwhelms the listener with a whirlwind of ice cold steel. Velocity meets melody, as pounding rhythms accompany cascading guitar riffs upon riffs. Portent sees vocalist Rachel N. at her most voracious and daring, commanding the listener’s attention with every word, against some of the most severe synth accompaniments since In the Nightside Eclipse.

Portent was recorded, mixed and mastered by Adam Tucker at Signaturetone Recording; album artwork is by Mariusz Lewandowski, and the vinyl insert by Stephen Wilson.

Portent track listing:

1. A Victual to Our Dead Selves
2. Rime on the Song of Returning
3. The Serpent Sting, the Smell of Goat
4. Postlude

Jimmy – guitar
Skorpiain – guitar
Niko – bass
Kishel – keyboard
Travis – drums
Rachel – vocals


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.