DETACH THE ISLANDS – Brooklyn-Based Hardcore/Powerviolence Outfit To Release The Burden To Become Fact In July

[photo by Nick Karp]
Brooklyn, New York-based DETACH THE ISLANDS will deliver their debut full-length release, The Burden To Become Fact, through Dental Records on July 5th. A brief trailer for the album and the first single, “Love Is the Miracle We Fabricate,” have been issued alongside the cover art, track listing, preorders, and more.
DETACH THE ISLANDS‘ The Burden To Become Fact assaults the senses with technical, and emotive guitar work that often avoids genre norms, up front and filthy bass that glues the band together, desperate, cathartic, and raw screams, with a foundation of deadly precise, dizzying, and expressive drumming. The lyrical subjects range from politics to relationships, from living with Crohns Disease to the state of digital media. Moments of beauty and release keep the listener from getting battle fatigued from the predominantly discordant songs.
With a stage presence to beware, the group’s aim is to push extreme punk music into rarely treaded discordant territory and sidestep the well-treaded paths of the genres it works within. DETACH THE ISLANDS‘ The Burden To Become Fact unloads blasting chaos which melds elements of dizzying high-tension music fans of The Dillinger Escape Plan, Pageninetynine, United Nations, Cerce, Glassjaw, and Combatwoundedveteran will want to hear right away.
See a brief trailer for The Burden To Become Fact RIGHT HERE.
DETACH THE ISLANDS will release The Burden To Become Fact on cassette and digital formats through Ceglia’s own Dental Records imprint on July 5th. Find preorders where “Love Is the Miracle We Fabricate” is also streaming HERE.
Watch for full audio samples and more on the album to be issued in the days ahead.
The Burden To Become Fact Track Listing:
1. Who Holds My Head Down
2. Announcing Peace
3. The Rhythm That Starts The Dance
4. Love Is The Miracle We Fabricate
5. Culture Architects
6. Placebo
7. Refugee Anatomy
8. Reset Yourself To Zero
9. The Burden to Become Fact (Activate Me)
10. You Are the Ghost
Masterminded by drummer Emmett Ceglia, DETACH THE ISLANDS delivers a dissonant barrage of hardcore, powerviolence, and screamo. The quintet spawned after the dissolving of math/prog-metal outfit, Autocatalytica, and so Ceglia struck out to forge his own path in heavy music. While on stage he is just the drummer, behind the scenes, he is the nerve center of the group writing just about every note and lyric. However, DTI has since evolved from its one-man-project origins into a fully-fledged hardcore machine with some of the Brooklyn scene’s best joining in the cathartic fury. Guitarists Jay Kohler (Juan Bond, Semaphore) and Siddhu Anandalingam (Juan Bond, Semaphore), bassist Eric Messihi (For Sleeping Or Jumping), and vocalist Ashley Levine (THIN, ex-Mary Todd) round out the lineup.
The Burden To Become Fact was written and produced by Emmett Ceglia, with additional lyrics on “Culture Architects” by Dan Kelly. The bass and drums were recorded by Dominic Nastasi at Vudu Studios, the guitars recorded by Siddhu Anandalingam at Si Doux Studios, and the vocals recorded by Emmett Ceglia at Dental Records HQ. The record was mixed by Ceglia at Dental Records HQ, mastered by Alan Douches at West West Side Music, and completed with artwork by Ceglia.
Ashley Levine – vocals
Jay Kohler – guitar
Siddhu Anandalingam – guitar
Eric Messihi – bass
Emmett Ceglia – drums, vocals

Related posts

DETACH THE ISLANDS – Decibel Magazine Premieres “Love Is The Miracle We Fabricate” Video


DETACH THE ISLANDS – Metal Injection Streams The Burden To Become Fact As Debut Album By Brooklyn Outfit Nears Release This Friday


DETACH THE ISLANDS – “Culture Architects” Now Playing At Heavy Blog Is Heavy


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.