MEUCHELMORD set release date for new PURITY THROUGH FIRE album, reveal first track

Purity ThroughFire sets May 31st as the international release date for Meuchelmord‘s highly anticipated fifth album, Waffenträger. It will be available in normal jewelcase CD and A5 digipack (limited to 99) formats.

For nearly a decade, Meuchelmord have been holding high the banner of traditional German black metal. The sole work one one Cernunnos, the band have quietly built a body of work that is deeply reverent of black metal’s ancient ways but is by no means totally tethered to the past. In fact, one can find a refreshing sense of modernity to Meuchelmord‘s creations, which in turns renders his expression timeless – and terrifying.

The latest and perhaps greatest distillation of that terrifying power is WaffenträgerMeuchelmord‘s fifth full-length to date. Here, Cernunnos focuses exclusively on World War II, but far away from a heroic mood, it is incredibly sorrowful and melancholic. Nevertheless, cruelly blasting violence persists, creating a quickly moving yet strangely trance-inducing disconnect: monotone in the structural sense, but certainly not in the pejorative. If anything, this steely, coasting-on-a-razor’s-edge focus lends Waffenträger an appropriately martial aspect, further highlighted by Cernunnos’ darkly melodic riffing.

Deeper, the song “Feuersturm” deals with the topic of bombing civilians, and here Meuchelmord show us the German side of that topic. But as bonus on the CD version, we find the same song with the same lyrics in English, sung by Hrafn of Thy Dying Light to shows us the other side of the same coin. Another bonus song is “Kaltes Land,” which is sung in Finnish by Tyrant of fellow Purity ThroughFire labelmates Malum.

The march to war has begun, very long ago. Meuchelmord steps from the past into the present Waffenträger. Step forward to that march with both the German and English version of the aforementioned new track “Feuersturm,” with the English “Firestorm” featuring Hrafn of Thy Dying Light, HERE at Purity Through Fire‘s official YouTube channel. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Meuchelmord’s Waffenträger
1. Anmarsch
2. Wolga-Bataillon
3. Ostfront
4. Kaltes Land
5. Grabenkampf
6. Feuersturm
7. FlaKfeuer
8. Sieben Tage
9. U-Boote vor!
10. Firestorm (featuring Hrafn of Thy Dying Light)
11. Kylmä Maa (featuring Tyrant of Malum)


Related posts

MEUCHELMORD set release date for new PURITY THROUGH FIRE album, reveal first track


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.