KOSM Premiere Music Video For H.P. Lovecraft Inspired Track ‘Wza-Y’ei’

L-R – Jessie Grace – Vocals, Mike Slater – Guitar, Erik Leonhard – Guitar, Michael ‘Pastrami’ Mastracci – Bass, Sterling Paterson – Drums
Photo credit – Justin Forster

Vancouver progressive metal band KOSM released their debut “Cosmonaut” during November 2018. A concept album loosely based on the weird fiction of H.P. Lovecraft, along with borrowing influences from the science-fiction of Frank Herbert, and Roger Zelazny, the full length serves as both musical and lyrical adventure. 

The band explains:

“The cosmonaut’s journey is essentially symbolic, serving as a commentary on the human experience: a journey from confusion and anger, to transcendence and self-understanding.”

With praise from their local Vancouver metal scene and beyond for their debut full length, the band is sharing another tribute to the author H.P. Lovecraft that has inspired them, their music, and their latest music video ‘Wza-Y’ei’.

The band adds:

“The word ‘Wza-Y’ei’ is a word in Aklo, the language of the Old Ones. We are interpreting the meaning as something akin to “Om”, or the liberation of the mind. This is a summation of the album themes. Cosmonaut begins with naivety explored in the first track “Space Mead,” but ends in epiphany with ‘Wza-Y’ei’.”  

Check out KOSM‘s music video for ‘Wza-Y’ei’  via Metal-Rules.com at the following link: https://www.metal-rules.com/2019/05/24/kosm-premiere-music-video-for-h-p-lovecraft-inspired-track-wza-yei/

“Cosmonaut” is available on all major digital platforms BandcampiTunesSpotify.

Lyric Video – “The Esoteric Order” – https://youtu.be/Q03AbR7tY_A 
Music Video “Ancient Heart” – https://youtu.be/6G8arglKdxc 
“Ocean Planet” (Gojira Cover) – https://youtu.be/NK1YVys22YE 

Upcoming Show Dates:
June 14 – Vancouver, BC – Astoria Hastings
June 15 – Kelowna, BC – Muninn’s Post
July 6 – Calgary, AB – County Line Saloon (Decimate MetalFest)

Track Listing:
1. Space Mead (6:07)
2. Cosmonaut (5:27)
3. Colossus (6:38)
4. Wolves Upon The Throne (5:46)
5. The Esoteric Order (6:23)
6. Farseer (6:40)
7. Ancient Heart (5:23)
8. Fiefdom In The Sky (2:15)
9. Omnipresence (4:36)
10. Monarch (7:16)
11. Umbrakinesis (5:23)
12. Wza – Y’ei (4:20)
Album Length: 1:06:21

KOSM is:
Erik Leonhard – Guitar
Mike Slater – Guitar
Jessie Grace – Vocals
Sterling Paterson – Drums
Michael Mastracci – Bass

For more info:

Related posts

KOSM Posts Cover Video of A PERFECT CIRCLE’s ‘3 Libras’


MetalInsider Premiere EP Stream of KOSM’s Bloodborne Inspired “Eyes On The Inside”


KOSM Streaming ‘Yharnam’ Off Upcoming Bloodborne Inspired EP “Eyes On The Inside” Out June 28th


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.