MAJESTICA – unveil first “Above The Sky” track by track commentary video!

The wait is almost over – Swedish symphonic power metallers MAJESTICA will unleash their debut album »Above The Sky«, this Friday through Nuclear Blast. Until then, the band led by SABATON guitaristTommy Johannsson has launched the first part of a track by track commentary series, in which the frontman tells us more about the following songs:

01. Above The Sky
02. Rising Tide
03. The Rat Pack
04. Mötley True
05. The Way To Redemption

Watch now:

More on »Above The Sky«:
Band History & Recording »Above The Sky« OFFICIAL TRAILER #1:
The Creation Of “ATS” & Working With Uli Kusch OFFICIAL TRAILER #2:

Pre-order »Above The Sky«
Pre-order digitally to receive ‘Night Call Girl’ and ‘Rising Tide’ instantly (amazon and iTunes only)!
Pre-save the album via Spotify
Listen to both tracks in the NB New Releases Playlists: /

The album will be available in the following formats:

– 2LP (black, gold)

»Above The Sky« – Track Listing:

01. Above The Sky
02. Rising Tide
03. The Rat Pack
04. Mötley True
05. The Way To Redemption
06. Night Call Girl
07. Future Land
08. The Legend
09. Father Time (Where Are You Now)
10. Alliance Forever
Bonus Tracks (DIGI und 2LP only!)
11. Future Land (2002)
12. Spaceballs

The album was recorded with guitarist Alex Oriz (Soundgarden Studio/Studio Oriz) and Ronny Milianowicz (Studio Seven), who also mixed the record and took care of the production alongside Tommy Johansson (guitars, vocals). Mastering duties were handled by Tony Lindgren (KATATONIAANGRA,ENSLAVED etc.) at Fascination Street Studios. The »Above The Sky« artwork was crafted by SABATONguitarist Chris Rörland (FOLLOW THE CIPHER etc.).


Tommy Johansson is a well-known person, especially due to his role as guitar player of heavy metallersSABATON. But before he joined the Swedish “war machine”, he was already busy playing in his own band named REINXEED, currently completed by bassist Chris David and guitarist Alex Oriz. Of course, his touring acitivities with SABATON slowed down the creative process for REINXEED a bit. The group has now returned – seemingly out of nowhere – with a new 10-track album entitled »Above The Sky« and a brand new name,MAJESTICA, to top it off! On the new record, Tommy presents not only his guitar skills but also his vocal abilities once again, which he also showcased as TWILIGHT FORCE‘s stand-in singer throughout autumn 2017.

Tommy states, “It’s been many years since we last released an album, so we decided to ‘start over’ as a new band, MAJESTICA, instead. It’s not only a majestic and epic name for a power metal band from Sweden, it’s also a tribute to the album »Majestic« that we released with REINXEED in 2010. We came up with it and it sounded great, it felt perfect for this kind of music and just feels right.”

Not only their band name has changed, the quartet is also a trio at the moment. But fans don’t have to worry:MAJESTICA bagged no less than Uli Kusch (ex-HELLOWEEN) for the drum recordings of their debut album.

Tommy comments, “It was a huge honour and his drums make this album sound more alive than any album I’ve ever recorded with any other band before. Since many songs are inspired by HELLOWEEN and GAMMA RAY it just felt right to have his drumming and input on the songs.”

Tommy Johansson | guitars, vocals
Alex Oriz | guitars
Chris David | bass
Daniel Sjögren | drums (live)

More info:

Related posts

MAJESTICA – to do a livestream show on Saturday, May 16th!


MAJESTICA – unveil second track by track commentary video + debut album “Above The Sky” out now!


MAJESTICA – release music video for “Above The Sky” title track + debut album out now!


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.