Gritty & Grungy, Vancouver’s WAINGRO Present Their Single ‘Red Death’ Off Upcoming Album ‘III’

WAINGRO is not just a crazy, terrible human for hire trying to make his life in L.A. as portrayed in the 1995 film Heat. It’s also the name of a crazy rock n’ roll band who are making their way through the Canadian music scene and beyond with the release of their upcoming third album “III” set to be released in the UK on vinyl and digitally worldwide via Sludgelord Records on August 15th along with its Canadian vinyl release on September 13th via No List Records.

Using the character from Mann’s movie as a jumping off point, the Vancouver band imagines further scenarios of pre-Heat WAINGRO situations, such as their first single ‘Red Death’ off their upcoming album “III”. For those unfamiliar with the movie, the band explains the premise behind the lyrics for the track and the musical influence:

The second track always needs to be a heavy hitter. It was fun to play into Converge influences on this one at the end. The lyrics talk of WAINGRO’s recipe for Red Death, which is a form of meth that’s swept the streets. It’s a shameful thing to brag about but that falls in line with what a shitty dude like him would do. And it’s a recipe that he will take to his grave – what an asshole…

“III”, as suggested, is the third album from WAINGRO and has shown considerable growth from their previous releases “Mt. Hood” (2015) and Self-Titled (2014). 

The band explains:

“The first album was kind of chaotic, the second one explored the stoner/doom side of things a bit more, and this new and third one is a mix of the two, but with a more grunge/noise element to it.”

Fans of The Bronx, Queens of the Stone Age, and High On Fire will appreciate the heavy, abrasive, high energy sound of ‘Red Death’, which can be heard streaming on Doomed & Stoned at the following link:

Album Teaser Video here.

Album pre-order links: 
North America:

Track Listing:
1. New Colony (3:30)
2. Red Death (3:03)
3. Bay Area Cult (3:15)
4. Third Veil (2:40)
5. Merrin (2:48)
6. Marked Cross (3:43)
7. Dead Calm (2:41)
8. The Upward Turn (3:17)
9. Pacino (1:53)
10. Monaco (3:29)
11. Greenwater Manifesto (4:59)
12. Cardinal (4:42)
Album Length: 40:06

For more info:
Sludgelords Records
No List Records

Related posts

GhostCultMag Premiere WAINGRO’s Next Single ‘Merrin’ Off Upcoming Album ‘III’


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.