NEPTRECUS set release date for new PURITY THROUGH FIRE album, reveal first track

Purity ThroughFire sets August 19th as the international release date for Neptrecus‘ highly anticipated third album, Ars Gallica. The album shall be released on limited-edition digipack and normal jewelcase CD formats, with the vinyl LP version following during the winter.

One of the black metal underground’s best-kept secrets, Neptrecus have been proudly flying the banner for traditional French black metal since 2011. During that time, they’ve patiently and studiously built a stellar canon of work that’s reverently rooted in ’90s classicism but not once smacks of regression or backwards-thinking complacency. If anything, Neptrecus staunchly set their sights on the horizon, and dutifully unfurl forward their attack with windswept grandeur and fiery passion. In short, timeless black metal imagination.

And now, under the auspices of Purity ThroughFire do Neptrecus deliver their finest work to date with Ars Gallica. Simply by continuing to do what they do best is how the quartet deliver a master stroke with their third album. Robustly recorded – muscled leanly, metallic where so much black METAL forgets the latter aspect – whilst not losing their intrinsic mysticism, Ars Gallica displays a Neptrecus seemingly drunk on their own power, whipping forth an epic fury atop a breathtaking canvas of textures and emotions. This winding ‘n’ wily attack betrays an advanced grasp of songwriting that’s multi-hued and malicious in equal measure, painting wide swathes of majesty and malevolence, wonder and wickedness. It’s as much Olde Worlde as it is new, and makes for a mesmerizing 48-minute journey.

As the once-honorable idiom of French BM continues to be distorted with dissonance and obfuscation, all masking a wholesale lack of actual songwriting, here arises Neptrecus to raise their swords and carry the banner of the past into the present!

Raise the banners with the new track “Retour aux Sorces” HERE at Purity Through Fire‘s official YouTube channel. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Neptrecus’ Ars Gallica
1. Notre Berceau – Notre Tombeau
2. Ethique de la Volonté
3. Soyons Terribles
4. Fidelitas
5. Aux Grands Hommes
6. Messager de L’Oubli
7. Retour aux Sources


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More