TORCHE release “Admission” video

Torche has unveiled a video for “Admission”, with the clip for the album’s title track created by the band’s own Rick Smith and Jonathan Nuñez.

“’Admission,’ the title track off of our new album, is an extremely important song to us on many levels. Steve has opened the doors to a deep and personal place, lyrically shedding light on his personal life, and I worked hard and diligently to capture the feeling of a song I wrote during trying times,” explains guitar player Nuñez, who also produced the album which is slated for a July 12 release via Relapse Records. “Through the use of effects and various pedals, including a couple of my own line, Nuñez Amps, the feeling of the track took the shape it was destined for. The delays and heavy overdrive are essential to the song and we wanted a video to visually capture what the delays and driven sounds provided sonically. With 15 hours, a minimal setup, help from a couple good friends, and our cellphones, the band was able to create a video we are excited about and feel is the perfect visual companion to a song, and record, that has us excited in our sixteenth year as a band as we were when we first started.”

Billboard debuted the song last week, saying, “Torche once again constructs layers of guitar riffs that are somehow as airy as they are dense.” MetalSucks added, “Torche have not made a secret of the influence ’80s New Wave had on their new album, Admission — they’ve previously cited ‘the first three Gary Numan records as inspiration’ — but it really comes through on that record’s newly-released title track. Built around disco cymbals and a simple, starry-eyed guitar line, “Admission”  has the same bittersweet-pop vibe of that movement’s high points.”

The video arrives both as Torche is on the eve of kicking off their first North American tour dates in support of the 11-song album, launching the first leg on July 8 in Tampa, and also announcing an additional two-plus-weeks run on the western side of the continent later this summer. Tickets for the newly announced shows are on-sale this Friday at 10 am pacific. 

The band has given two previous previews of music from the 11-song album with streams of the songs “Slide” and Times Missing”. The trio of tracks are available as instant downloads with digital pre-orders. Admissionis available in various formats (CD/LP/CS/Digital) with several limited edition vinyl versions already sold out. More information can be found via Relapse’s webstoreAdmission’s cover art was created by Richard Vergez, a Cuban-American visual artist, whose work has been shown at No Romance Galleries (TriBeCa), Urban Arts Society (Chicago) and Kids of Dada (London).

Admission cover artwork by Richard Vergez

Admission Tracklist:

  1. From Here
  2. Submission
  3. Slide
  4. What Was
  5. Times Missing
  6. Admission
  7. Reminder
  8. Extremes of Consciousness
  9. On The Wire
  10. Infierno
  11. Changes Come

Torche released their fourth album, and Relapse Records’ debut, Restarter in 2015. The collection found the band on most year-end best of lists with Entertainment Weekly describing the album as “gloriously fuzzy, sludgy, hard-hitting” and calling the band members “four of loud rock’s most adroit genre-benders.” The Washington Post called Restarter “otherworldly” and the Chicago Tribune saying “Torche’s music connects muscle, songcraft and drive in a way that few bands of recent vintage can match.”

TORCHE Official Website
TORHCE on Facebook
TORCHE on Instagram
TORCHE on Twitter

Related posts

TORCHE share Chicago Music Exchange session; On tour in Europe in March and April


TORCHE announce additional 2020 Worldwide tour dates


TORCHE share new song “Times Missing”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.