ESCHATON Premiere Music Video for “Death Obsession”; Reveal New Album Details

New England based apocalyptic death metal band ESCHATON have unveiled a music video for the title track of their forthcoming sophomore album Death Obsession. The ferocious and highly technical release features drumming from Darren Cesca (Deeds of Flesh, Goratory, ex-Arsis), and will be unleashed onto the world on September 13th. 

The band’s primary songwriter and guitarist, Josh Berry, says this about the anticipated release, “Death Obsession represents the evolution of our aggressive writing style. It’s more calculated and precise, which does not sacrifice brutality but accentuates it, making for a more memorable record.”

The album blends new material with revitalized tracks from their independently released EP, Wake of the Ophidian. Re-tracked guitars, new mix & master, and a few added surprises give the tracks a completely refreshed sound. It is also the first time the band has tried its hand at covers, which see ESCHATON transforming two tracks from NES game Castlevania II: Simon’s Quest into a medley of bone-crushing, nostalgic fun. The instrumental cover is arguably the heaviest rendition of 8-bit music ever made.

The band offered about the lyrical content, “Each song has its own meaning, but the unifying theme is death’s grip on reality and the psyche of mankind.” 

Watch the video HERE

Death Obsession track listing – 
1. Born Into Shadows
2. Tides of Betrayal
3. Death Obsession
4. Exordia
5. Wake of the Ophidian
6. Of Freedom and Deception
7. Umbra Totalis
8. Imperial
9. Seal of the Curse

Physical pre-orders for Death Obsession will be available on Tuesday, July 16th. Digital pre-orders will be available tomorrow. 

ESCHATON was founded when extreme metal enthusiasts, guitarists Joshua and Jared Berry, and vocalist Jason Viteri began writing in 2007 near Providence, Rhode Island. Their chemistry and dedication forged a uniquely aggressive stand-alone sound that would become the essence of the band in the years to come.

ESCHATON brought 5 tracks to the studio to record the ruthless, self-produced EP Wake of the Ophidian, which was engineered and recorded by Rob Gil in 2009.   Local shredder Mike Bell took up guitar duties as Jared had to move out of state.  The band was still looking for a drummer with the speed and creativity necessary to uphold and complement the band’s concepts.  Rob Gil recommend one drummer that might be crazy enough for the job… Darren Cesca (Pillory, Arsis, Goratory, Incinerate). Wake of the Ophidian was independently released in 2010. Musically, it is an appropriate and telling introduction of the band, one that wastes no time and pulls no punches.

Momentum diminished as guitarist Mike Bell parted with the band, putting Eschaton back on the hunt to complete the lineup. Undeterred, Joshua strove on and eventually moved to Darren’s House of Grind Studio in southern Connecticut, with the aim of developing the most visceral and unrelenting album possible. This set the tone for the sonic brutality that would become Eschaton’s first full length: Sentinel Apocalypse.

In 2014 the yet unreleased album caught the attention of Unique Leader Records, leading to a formidable partnership that will expose ESCHATON to metal fans worldwide.  Jared Berry has rejoined the fold, and with the addition of bassist Patrick Pattison, ESCHATON has reached full-strength once again. Although currently dispersed over 4 states, the band is committed to spreading the uncompromising and relentless sound of both Sentinel Apocalypse and Wake of the Ophidian while they work on their most murderous material to date.

Related posts

ESCHATON premiere drum play-through for “Seal of the Curse” w/ Sick Drummer Magazine!


Darren Cesca of ESCHATON premiere drum play-through for ‘Tides of Betrayal’!


ESCHATON Premiere “Wake of the Ophidian” Video


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.