BRETUS set release date for new ORDO MCM album, reveal first tracks

Ordo MCM sets September 20th as the European release date for Bretus‘ highly anticipated fourth album, Aion Tetra, on CD and vinyl LP formats.

Formed in the year 2000, Bretus are cult figures in the Italian doom metal scene. Much like their loose ‘n’ lumbering music’s heaviness, the quartet are patient in their creations and are never in a rush, prizing quality over quantity. As such, their first public recording, Demo 2008, didn’t arrive until eight years after their formation. Ever since, they’ve stuck to this slow ‘n’ steady schedule, with a heavy whiff of stoner rock underlying their granite-thick doom metal foundation – altogether, a heady canvas for them to ruminate on supernatural horror and other Lovecraftian themes.

Alas, although it’s only been a couple years since their last full-length, the critically acclaimed …from the Twilight Zone, TOTAL DOOM arrives with Bretus‘ fourth album, Aion Tetra. Sweaty, swaggering, and more than a bit bluesy, Aion Tetra is sound of Bretus hitting a fever pitch of creativity. Almost effortlessly, the band unload one molten crusher after another, with each opening up to reveal new, deeper corridors to their signature sound. Within, despite the obvious world-eating weight, every one of the nine songs mesmerizes with spacey, spacious intent, dazzling the imagination with an array of otherworldly textures and territories. Of those territories, perhaps a cursory rundown of Aion Tetra’s attendant song titles suggest exactly where Bretus are going: “The City of Frost,” “The Third Mystic Eye,” “Deep Space Voodoo,” “Cosmic Crow,” and especially “Fields of Mars,” to name just a few.

Italian doom is some of the finest in the world. Whether already a convert or a first-time acolyte, Aion Tetra asserts Bretus‘ position among the best of the best.

Hear for yourself with the new tracks “Cosmic Crow” and “The City of Frost” HERE at Ordo MCM‘s Bandcamp. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Bretus’ Aion Tetra
1. The Third Mystic Eye
2. Priests of Chaos
3. Prisoner of the Night
4. Aion Tetra
5. Deep Space Voodoo
6. The Mark of Evil
7. Fields of Mars
8. Cosmic Crow
9. The City of Frost


Related posts

BRETUS stream new ORDO MCM album at “Decibel” magazine’s website


BRETUS premiere new track at


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More