GATES TO THE MORNING stream new album “Return to Earth”

Black metal band Gates to the Morning are now streaming the entirety of their debut album Return To Earth via Metal Injection. The album will be released this Friday.

The band commented  “After a long wait we are very proud to finally release our debut full-length Return To Earth. It is a 14 track concept album that lyrically and conceptually deals with the challenges and triumphs, pitfalls and mountaintops of a journey of enlightenment. I am proud of all the musicians who played on this record and of all the different sounds and moods we were able to capture, it is an exciting beginning to the band looking ahead to a very creatively active future.”

Listen to the album in full here:

About Gates To The Morning:

Gates To The Morning are a New Jersey post black metal band driven by the singular vision of Sean Meyers. Having started as a bedroom black metal project whilst still attending Montclair State University for Jazz Performance, Meyers started to collect material in 2016 for what would become the bands debut, Return To Earth. Pulling from a myriad set of influences, ranging from Opeth to Art Blakey by way of Tool, Gates To The Morning have rapidly refined a sound that is wholly their own and speaks to a dark unreality. Full of bombastic imagery and transcendent choruses, Gates To The Morning is finally taking form.

With his jazz background balanced with a long history in the infamous New Jersey DIY scene, Meyers hoped to create something powerful and thoughtful with Return To Earth. Fully invested in his work, he found himself recording drums at Backroom Studios with Kevin Antreassian of The Dillinger Escape Plan and then collaborating with friends to finish the studio process both at Backroom Studios and in various home setups. It was during this process that he chose to embrace the ethereal vocals of Meg Moyer for the project in addition to his own, further growing the bands sonic palette. The end result, and consequent live band, features performances from a variety of players, ranging from childhood friends to fellow jazz musicians.

Return To Earth is a concept album with lyrics orbiting around the twin concepts of challenge and triumphs, the pitfalls and mountaintops found on a journey of awakening and enlightenment. This opening ululation is powerful and deeply emotional, hinting at much more to come from these Garden State musicians. After years of deliberation and struggle their unique sound has finally come together. Gates To The Morning are plotting their first live shows around the release of Return To Earth and are steeling themselves for the stage.  


01 King Obscure          
02 Terra Incognita      
03 Surveying Forgotten Landscapes          
04 My Star          
05 Crossing The Abyss          
06 Freezing the Sundials      
07 Chapel Perilous          
08 Crestfallen      
09 Haunting The Third Chamber          
10 Chasing Shadows
11 Two Winters      
12 Steadfast      
13 Rekindled          
14 Return to Earth 

Related posts

GATES TO THE MORNING stream new song “Rekindled”


GATES TO THE MORNING release new song “Crestfallen”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.