ASPHALT GRAVES debut album reissue on Selfmadegod Records

SELFMADEGOD RECORDS will reissue ASPHALT GRAVES debut album this September. “The New Primitive” was originally released back in 2016 on US label Vitriol Records and has been sold out for some time now. SELFMADEGOD version has got completely new cover art by Rapahel Gabrio as well as revamped layout by Underground Factory. “The New Primitive” will be reissued September 20th 2019on CD. In the meantime you can check “Angst And Praise” video clip here:

“The New Primitive” tracklisting:
1. Vulgar Technology
2. Megalomaniacs
3. Who Do You Serve?
4. No Feast (Without Cruelty)
5. Scapegoat
6. Negative Future
7. Mass Graves
8. Angst and Praise
9. Stop Resisting
10. The New Primitive
11. Time to Act
12. Let It Burn
13. Exit from Reality

Vocals – Jason Netherton (Misery Index, ex-Dying Fetus)
Guitar – Adam Faris (ex-War Torn)
Bass – Brent Purgason (GWAR, U.S. Bastards)
Drums – Shannon Lucas (ex-The Black Dahlia Murder)

ASPHALT GRAVES was formed in Richmond, VA, USA out of the ashes of War Torn, the band that both Adam (Faris) and Shannon (Lucas) played together in from 2003-2005. When Shannon left in 2005 to join All That Remains, and later The Black Dahlia Murder, Adam and Shannon kept in touch about putting together a band that focused more on the extreme end of the death-grind spectrum. In the meantime, Adam joined a band called Dysphagia, where he then met Brent (Purgason – also of GWAR  and U.S. Bastards) and in that project actually started playing some of the songs that ended up on the Asphalt Graves album. Fast forward to 2013, Shannon moved back to Richmond, and things began in earnest when he started tracking the drums for the album with producer Terry Smith at @ Audio Schmaudio studios. At that point, Brent was then brought in on bass, which he ended up tracking at GWAR’s Slave Pit Studios, while Jason (Netherton) was brought in to write lyrics and do the vocals, which were done at Mindscape Studios in London, Ontario, Canada. After several months of additional rehearsing, tacking and mixing, the 13 track, debut album entitled “The New Primitive” was finalized in the spring of 2015, which was then mastered by Scott Hull at Visceral Sound. The outcome is a modern take on the classic death/grind of the 1990s, with influences coming from bands likes REPULSION, NAPALM DEATH, EDGE OF SANITY, BRUTALITY, RIGHTEOUS PIGS, NASUM, LOCK UP, PHOBIA, TERRORIZER, DISRUPT, CARCASS and more. The album was released in the US on Vitriol Records in 2016, and now gets its European and worldwide release from the esteemed SELFMADEGOD RECORDS.


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.