MADDER MORTEM Debut Video For Track From Upcoming Album And Announce New Documentary

On the 6th September MADDER MORTEM will be celebrating the 20th Anniversary of their debut full-length album “Mercury” with its re-release on Dark Essence Records. A re-release  that includes five new tracks, especially recorded by the band, three of which are from the original album, but which have been re-imagined and re-arranged in a more contemporary manner, and two of which are brand new songs composed using old, Mercury-era, riffs.

And, as part of that celebration, the band has, for the very first time, opened its doors to a documentary film team  who will explore MADDER MORTEM‘s musical lives, and their unique creative process, to  discover what  beats at the heart of one of Norway’s most culturally relevant, but underrated rock bands.

The documentary was filmed on Location in Nord-Odal, Hedmark County, Norway,  and Dresden, Germany, and, as a taste of what’s to come, Dark Essence Records have released a music video by the documentary’s director Randy M. Salo of FREQS / Stewis Media.

The video, for “Vigil“, one of the bonus tracks on “Mercury“, can be seen at 

Salo  says of the video for “Vigil”:

When I first began filming the project, the band was in the rehearsal room putting the last touches on the bonus tracks for the “Mercury” re-release. When they began to play “Vigil”, I immediately saw the music video playing out in my mind. Experiencing the 20 years of history between the first album and that moment, I saw a mini-version of the documentary that would combine images of the hauntingly beautiful landscape of Hedmark county in winter, with the band rehearsing and recording the bonus tracks. To give the fans a more intimate look at their journey we included many archival photos from their storied career. I hope this video will help tide over the fans until the release of the feature length film!

About the music itself, the band the band had this to say: 

“Vigil” is quite a special song. As one of the bonus tracks for our “Mercury” re-release, the main riff was written in the early 90s by Christian Ruud, our then guitar player. We were never able to forget this idea, so when we started thinking of bonus tracks for this re-release, that riff was immediately on our minds. Madder Mortem anno 2019 worked on it and added to it in the rehearsal room, and the result is a fragile and beautiful landscape of music that we are very proud of. The lyrics are very direct and honest, and balance right on that razor’s edge between despair and hope that is a Madder Mortem trademark.

First released on Misanthropy Records back in 1999, and unavailable for many years, “Mercury” has been re-mastered by Peter In de Betou, and  its original mix of prog, gothic and doom metal  sounds as fresh and original today as it did 20 years ago. Track listing on “Mercury” is as follows:

  1. Undertow
  2. Under Another Moon
  3. He Who Longed For The Stars
  4. These Mortal Sins
  5. The Grinding Silence
  6. Loss
  7. Remnants
  8. Misty Sleep
  9. Convertion (Bonus tracks)
  10. He Who Longed For The Stars (2019 re-recording)
  11. The Grinding Silence (2019 re-recording)
  12. Remnants (2019 re-recording)
  13. Shadows Coming Home
  14. Vigil

With stunning new artwork by the renowned Romanian artist, and Dark Essence label-mate, Costin Chiorieanu,  “Mercury” will be available in CD, Digital and Vinyl formats, and the Vinyl edition will come as a package which will include the full CD. It is available to pre-order from the following:

CD, LP, Digital:

MADDER MORTEM have also planned a very special Anniversary show  which is set to take place the day after the album’s release, at the Parkteatret in Oslo, Norway,  on the 7th September. As the band recently explained:

We are bringing the former members of Madder Mortem back to the stage, to share the different eras with you all, as well as some surprise guests. We’ve chosen a set list that includes some fan favourites and some very rarely heard songs, as well as some of the bonus tracks from the re-release. The outstanding Costin Chioreanu is creating original paintings for songs from the set, and the filmed creation of those paintings will add a stunning visual element to the show. Costin will also exhibit his original paintings at the show, to give you a close look at his visual interpretation of the Madder music. And there might be more surprises along the way.

Tickets for the Anniversary show are available from and further information can be found on the Facebook Event at

Dark Essence recently released the single “He Who Longed For The Stars” from “Mercury” and it can be streamed or downloaded from

More information about MADDER MORTEM can be found on the band’s website at or on Facebook at

Madder Mortem  Website:
Madder Mortem Facebook:
Madder Mortem Bandcamp:
Madder Mortem Instagram:
Madder Mortem YouTube:
Madder Mortem Twitter:

Related posts

Dark Essence Records Release New Single From Upcoming MADDER MORTEM Album


MADDER MORTEM release second single of forthcoming album


MADDER MORTEM Reveal Details Of Upcoming 8th Album Plus New Single & Video


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More