VHS – Canadian death metallers premiere “Let’s Get Gruesome” video at Decibel Magazine!

“One of the 20 Canadian bands you need to know right now!” – KERRANG!

Today, Canadian death metallers VHS reveal their new video for the track “Let’s Get Gruesome” through an exclusive premiere via Decibel Magazine! Watch it RIGHT HERE!

The band’s new album, “We’re Gonna Need Some Bigger Riffs”, is out now via Rotten Roll Rex (CD) and HPGD Productions (digital). Toilet Ov Hell premiered the record in its entirety exclusively HERE!

Head over to No Clean Singing to see the official lyric video of the song “Death and Carnage Coming in Waves”, which features Matt Harvey from gore metal heroes EXHUMED!

Pure Grain Audio recently premiered a lyric video for the “From the Murky Depths” single HEREwhilethe “Rooting For the Villain” video can be seen at Indy Metal Vault RIGHT HERE!

VHS return with their third album, “We’re Gonna Need Some Bigger Riffs”. With tongue still firmly planted in cheek, this Canadian trio is exploring the murky depths with their latest release. Sea monsters, killer whales, and bloodthirsty creatures make up the majority of the lyrical content, while the usual killer in a mask makes a brief appearance, which should be expected of any sequel!

The album shows the band staying true to their diverse and catchy style, taking elements from death metal, punk and even hair metal throughout the album’s 14 tracks. 
Trevor Strnad of The Black Dahlia Murder lends his snarl to the midtempo “Rooting For the Villain”, while Matt Harvey of Exhumed adds an extra layer of sickness to the rocking nod to Humanoids from the Deep, “Death and Carnage Coming in Waves”Matt also supplies the albums opening orchestral intro as well.

“We’re Gonna Need Some Bigger Riffs” tracklist:

1. Full Scream Ahead (Intro)
2. Zombie Vs. Shark
3. Let’s Get Gruesome
4. Voracious and Violent
5. Rooting for the Villain (Ft. Trevor Strnad)
6. An Old Lady and Her Crocodile
7. Oozing, Bubbling Black Mass
8. Death and Carnage Coming in Waves (Ft. Matt Harvey) 
9. Savage Streets
10. Face Full of Worms
11. Bringer of Death
12. From the Murky Depths
13. Cruise Ship Carnage
14. Marine Monstrosity


The 80’s….The time of neon, excess, and bad music. But the blood ran thick and eyeballs were exposed to some of the most ridiculous and nasty images ever committed to film. VHS is a tribute to the first time you saw Jason hit an unsuspecting girl into a tree, the first time Freddy cracked a one liner, or the first time you saw a gut munched in graphic detail. This is a tribute to 80’s horror, clamshells and all!

If you took old school death metal, punk simplicity, and a dose of 80’s hair metal and thrash, threw it in a blender the resulting black goo would be the sound of VHS. It’ll stick to your teeth and probably rot your insides but if you are an old school metal fan you’ll love every second of it.

Lyrically VHS is like browsing a video store in the late 80’s. Inspiration is drawn from the classics but also some lesser known gems as well. Succinct and bloody, the lyrics are like a well done gore scene but not without a sense of humor. This is a tribute to horror but not without poking a little fun at it.

Fast, catchy and bloody, that is VHS at its core. They are coming for you and they will not stop until the screaming stops. You have been warned!


Mike: Guitar/Vocals
Curtis: Bass
Andy: Drums

Twitter: @vhs_horror 
Instagram: vhs_horror

Related posts

VHS Announce Fantasy Fueled Album Quest For The Mighty Riff


VHS Release New Album


VHS Release New Song Featuring Trevor Strnad


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More