SLEEPING IN TRAFFIC Premiere Single ‘Exoplanets’ via Prog-Sphere; Releasing Double EP Sept 27th

Edmonton’s SLEEPING IN TRAFFIC have been busy writing and recording two EP’s, which while complementary to each other are still dramatically different and allow fans to explore each side of the band’s music as its own entity and to hear each aspect fully fleshed out instead of blended together.

With influences from Between The Buried & Me, Devin Townsend and Tool, the newest album is a split EP that explores that dual nature of the band’s music. One EP ‘That Which Destroys Us’ is dark and aggressive, while the other EP ‘That Which Saves Us’ is upbeat and catchy. The band explains the duality in their vision: 

“The first ‘That Which Saves Us’ is the “upbeat EP”. It strongly represents a lot of the pop-punk influences that Ryan and Greg bring to the band, and features songs with inspiring themes and uplifting major keys. The other ‘That Which Destroys Us’ displays more of the band’s extreme metal influences, without abandoning some of the weirdness the band is known for. The EPs continue to explore odd time signatures and polyrhythms in the context of heavily distorted guitars, snarling synths, and guttural vocals.”

The first single for these two releases is ‘Exoplanets’ from ‘That Which Saves Us’, in the band’s own words, they highlight the track:

“As always, our music is designed to take the listener on a journey through unexpected terrain and to reward listeners who sit down with the song and let it carry them along. ‘Exoplanets’ is a big, spacey, synth-filled odyssey that creates a sweeping and ever-changing landscape that tells the story of mankind’s desire to find another place among the stars to live and discover.”

Listen to the exclusive premiere of ‘Exoplanets’ on here

The EPs will be available on September 27, 2019 and available for pre-order on Bandcamp.

Track Listing:
1. Through Method And Rigor (4:43)
2. Fungal Symbiosis (feat. Elle T.) (3:50)
3. Exoplanets (feat. Elle T.) (6:09)
4. False Alternatives (5:13)
5. The Scrupulous Study Of Everything (5:41)
EP Length: 25:38

Track Listing:
1. (√-π)÷0=1 (3:58)
2. Audaciousness Of Him (7:10)
3. Narcicystic Pustule (1:26)
4. Masculine Toxin (4:38)
5. Gaia Shrugged (feat. Elle T.) (6:07)
6. The Inevitable Heat Death Of The Universe (5:32)
EP Length: 28:53

For more info:

Related posts

Edmonton Prog SLEEPING IN TRAFFIC Share Drum Playthrough “Exoplanets”


SLEEPING IN TRAFFIC Premiere via Geargods “Exoplanets” Guitar/Bass/Keys Playthrough


SLEEPING IN TRAFFIC Release Mathematical Second Single (√-π)÷0=1 (The Equation) Off Upcoming Dual EP


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More