POMBAJIRA set release date for HELLDPROD debut, reveal first track

Helldprod Records sets November 29th as the international release date for Pombajira‘s striking debut album, simply self-titled.

There’s nothing much to say about Pombajira! Or so the Brazilian band claims, but we at Helldprod feel differently: Pombajira is a six-song excavation of deathly doom draped in darkness and dirtiness! In fact, after the record’s 30 minutes of pulsing, punishing filth, it’ll take you at least a week just to feel clean again! Or, imagine Pentagram’s most earth-shaking doom moments integrated into the atmosphere of Celtic Frost’s Into the Pandemonium, creating a ritualistic and ecstatic trance… Truly, Pombajira‘s debut album is a bolt from the blue – a dark horse ready to run you over!

Formed in late 2017, Pombajira was created by ex-Grave Desecrator Hellson Röcha. Soon enough, he roped in a drummer and also his old guitar-playing friend Blizzard. After a year of wasting time with this drummer, T. Splatter (Velho, Lápide, Poem’s Death etc) took up the drum duties.

A few rehearsals were enough for Pombajira to record an entire album, and finally, it emerges as Pombajira! Directly influenced by bands like Black Sabbath, Hellhammer, Venom, Pentagram, as well as others of a similar dark ilk, the power-trio have successfully reached their goal in sounding heavy, basic, somber, and uncompromised. And no fucking religious proselytism nor a cocky arrogance with the lyrical content!

Pombajira‘s moniker derives from their Afro-Brazilian cultural roots and serves as a foundation to flirt with the enigmatic spiritual imagery and sometimes superstitious atmosphere which is around them. In addition to their personal experiences, the band is influenced by magick, rebellion, sarcasm, and darkness. What results is uniquely Pombajira, and what the band brand HEAVY ROCK INFERNO! Are you ready to be consumed by their flames?

Become consumed by the flames of the brand-new track “In Reverence,” which can be heard HERE at Hellprod‘s Soundcloud as well as HERE at the label’s Bandcamp. Ordering info can be found HERE. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Pombajira’s Pombajira
1. Gira
2. In Reverance
3. Vital Lucifer
4. The Lost Exit of Darkness
5. Queen of the Night
6. Malandro e Mulambo


Related posts

POMBAJIRA stream new HELLDPROD album at MetalBite.com


POMBAJIRA stream new track at NoCleanSinging.com


POMBAJIRA self-titled debut out November 29th


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.