Dark Essence Records To Re-Release Vinyl Versions Of Two TAAKE Albums

Good news for fans of TAAKE who have long been clamouring for the re-release of the long-sold out vinyl versions of 2008’s “Taake” and 2017 “Kong Vinter” albums, because, as of the 22nd November, they will be available on Dark Essence Records.

Featuring Hoest on vocals, lead guitar, rhythm guitar, bass guitar and drums, TAAKE’s self-titled album was recorded at the Conclave and Earshot Studio by Bjornar E. Nilsen (VULTURE INDUSTRIES, BLACK HOLE GENERATOR), back in the dog days of 2008 and has, since then, become a Black Metal classic. Following on from the iconic trilogy of “Nattestid…”, “…Bjoergvin…” and “…Doedskvad”, the album heralded  new start, with TAAKE becoming more active as a live entity.

Originally released on CD, “Taake” was given a limited vinyl release in 2009, and, other than as a part of 2018’s career spanning picture disc box set “7 Fjell”, it has never since been available on vinyl. With the original pressing currently selling for astronomical prices on the secondary market, fans have actively sought to persuade Dark Essence to make it available once again, and the label has listened to their pleas.  

Taake” will be released in gatefold format, with the bonus track that appeared on the original vinyl having been removed. To differentiate  it from the 2009 release”Taake”  will come with an alternative cover, using a photo from the original photo shoot, and will be available in  three different versions.  Aside from the regular black version, there will also be white vinyl version, which will be limited to 500 copies, and a 250 copies, strictly limited, clear vinyl version which will only be available exclusively through the Dark Essence Records Webshop. 

Tracklisting as follows:

Taake Vinyl Edition 2019
01. Atternatt
02. Umenneske
03. Lukt til Helvete
04. Doedsjarl
05. Motpol
06. September omsider
07. Velg bort Livet

TAAKE‘s “Kong Vinter” once again saw Hoest playing all the instruments on an album that rose like a Black Metal beacon from the gloom of the rugged, rain-swept coastline of Bjoergvin. Traditional in spirit, “Kong Vinter” provides a soundscape underscored by a nasty groove, that at times can appear deceptively playful. It  is familiar to the ear, and yet it has a freshness that is so often found lacking in the genre, demonstrating Hoest’s unnerring ability to develop TAAKE‘s sound in such a way that keeps it relevant and up to date, whilst retaining the intensity that fans have come to admire in the genre.

Kong Vinter” will be available in a regular sleeve in a black vinyl version. Once again a new photo from the original photo shoot has been used for the cover, and the bonus track from the original vinyl version has been removed.

Tracklisting as follows:

Kong Vinter Vinyl Edition 2019
01. Sverdets Vei
02. Inntrenger
03. Huset i Havet
04. Havet i Huset
05. Jernhaand
06. Maanebrent
07. Fra Bjoergegrend mot Glemselen

Both “Taake” and “Kong Vinter” re-releases are now available to pre-order from the following:

Dark Essence Records Webshop
Dark Essence Webshop North America

More information about TAAKE can be found on the band’s official Facebook page at

The official video for the track “Umenneske ” from the TAAKE‘s 20018 self-titled  album  can be seen at

Taake Website:
Taake on Facebook:
Taake Bandcamp:
Taake WebShop:

Related posts

Black Metallers TAAKE Announce Details Of European Tour


TAAKE Reveals Details Of Eighth Full-Length Album And New Single


Dark Essence Records Set To Release CD Version Of TAAKE Tracks From Recent 10″ Split Series


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More