The new generation of Scandinavian death metal – WAYWARD DAWN

WAYWARD DAWN release the single and video “Prophet” and show some of the arguments that make them one of the highest hopes for Denmark’s extreme metal and what got them signed to Mighty Music in the first place.

Hailing from the soil of Skanderborg, Denmark, Wayward Dawn plays intense and relentless death metal. The band drags the listener into a cavernous world of vicious nihilism and monstrous soundscapes with thundering double bass pedals, pulverising basslines, and downtuned guitars played through classic Marshall amps. With inspiration from both old school and modern death metal, Wayward Dawn delivers a combination of ferocious tremolo-picking and blastbeats, slow and crushingly heavy passages, and epic choruses. Venomous words of human and societal decay complete the picture with savage roars, abysmal growls and rotten screams.

The official video for “Prophet” can be seen below or in one of the selected press partner for it’s premiere:

Deaf Forever (DE)
Devilution (DK)
No Clean Singing (US)
Sweden Rock Magazine (SE)

WAYWARD DAWN  “Prophet” official video

Since its formation in October 2015, Wayward Dawn has, among other things, played at Aalborg Metal Festival, SPOT Festival and UHØRT Festival and supported bands like Nailed to Obscurity (DE), Jinjer (UA) and BAEST (DK).. With mentions in prominent magazines such as Metal Hammer and GAFFA, the band is known for its hyper-energetic live shows with constant use of the windmill headbanging technique and manic interaction with the audience.

Wayward Dawn released their critically acclaimed debut album “Soil Organic Matter” on August 31st 2018. The album was recorded and produced by Jacob Bredahl in Dead Rat Studio and mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege (Obituary, Nails, Full of Hell). The same producer and mastering studio was used for this new single “Prophet” which will be released on the 13th of September and the same day the band will support label mates Blood Red Throne at Stengade in Copenhagen, Denmark.

The band:
Jakob Kristensen (21 years) – Guitar
Rasmus Johansen (19 years) – Guitar/Vocals
Kasper Szupienko Petersen (20 years) – Bass/Vocals
Lukas Nysted (20 years) – Drums

Related posts

Gritty death metal band WAYWARD DAWN to release new album in September


WAYWARD DAWN – “House Of Mirrors” out today


WAYWARD DAWN signs to Emanzipation, prepares new EP


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More