Germany’s KRATER set release date for new EISENWALD album

Eisenwald sets November 15th as the release date for the highly anticipated fourth album of Germany’s KraterVenenare, on CD, vinyl LP, and limited-edition cassette tape formats.

A study in patience and progress, Krater formed in 2003. In the band’s earliest days – across two demos, two splits, and 2006’s debut album, Das Relikt des Triumphes – the Krater sound tended more toward pagan black metal, but powerfully so. Come 2008, however, a period of silence and self-reflection followed…

When at last those sounds arrived, Krater had taken on a new form: one partly tied to their earlier traditionalism, another more so modernized. This burst-chrysalis came in the shape of 2011’s Nocebo, and following yet another lineup shake-up, 2016’s masterful Urere, courtesy of current label home Eisenwald. However, with these still-poignant albums as the foundation, Krater have now delivered their magnum opus with Venenare.

A 50-minute work broken into nine songs but unified as one winding, widescreen composition, Venenare shows Krater at the height of their all-too-considerable powers, a blinding and windswept vortex of sumptuous songcraft and passionate execution. Motifs slice and dice, blast and race with a grace that’s simply stunning, as melodic counterplay runs riot with a proud ‘n’ powerful assertion of classic metal sensibility. Krater‘s contours here undeniably exude a sleek and urban quality, but with abstracted hints of their pagan past subtly woven in to the soundfield, the result is staunchly second-wave black metal bravely recast for the 21st century. Venenare is thus timeless, yet forward-thinking all the same.

With cover artwork courtesy of Misanthropic-Art and mixing & mastering handled by Esoteric’s Greg Chandler, Krater have gone full-force to deliver a great work for the ages with Venenare. The only hurdle is resisting its spellbinding pull…

Germany’s KRATER set release date for new EISENWALD album First track premiere and preorder info to be announced shortly. Aforementioned cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Krater (Germany)’s Venenare
1. Eruption
2. Prayer for Demise
3. Zwischen den Worten
4. Stellar Sparks
5. When Thousand Hearts
6. Atmet Asche
7. No Place for You
8. Darvaza Breeds
9. Wasted Carbon


Related posts

Germany’s KRATER reveal new video


KRATER premiere the new track “Stellar Sparks” at Decibel magazine


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More