PERVERTED CEREMONY and WITCHCRAFT to release new split album via NUCLEAR WAR NOW!, reveal first tracks

[Perverted Ceremony]

On October 19th internationally, Nuclear War Now! Productions will release a special split album between Perverted Ceremony and Finland’s Witchcraft. Titled Nighermancie / Black Candle Invoker, the release of this vinyl LP is also timed in conjunction with this year’s Nuclear War Now! Iron Bonehead-curated Never Surrender Fest, set to take place on October 19-20 in Oakland, California.

Nuclear War Now! is proud to present the pairing of two of the most abhorrent entities to have hoisted the label’s banner – Perverted Ceremony and Witchcraft – with the release of Nighermancie / Black Candle Invoker. Each of these two cults is responsible for conjuring some of the most vile and sinister black metal of the current day, and this seven-track split recording reaffirms and further proliferates the starkly unembellished, primordial strain of black metal espoused by each to unmatched effect.


The four tracks included from Perverted Ceremony were originally intended to be released as a demo, but it was later decided that they would better serve as the band´s contribution to a split. The term “Nighermancie,” as these four songs are collectively titled, translates from medieval Dutch into “the black arts” or “necromancy.” Admirers of the band’s previous works are sure to be pleased, as the same general recipe of songwriting, execution, and production is once again invoked. Witchcraft, with its offering, has resurrected three songs from a 2017 recording session that include an alternate version of the title track from that same year’s Diablerie demo and two previously-unreleased songs. As with the Diablerie demo and the more recent Nightmare Goetia demo, this recording exemplifies the continued evolution of Witchcraft’s sound, from that which was often described in oversimplified terms as an imitation of one of its primary influences, to one that more diversely reflects the band’s worship of the old Finnish, Brazilian, and Malaysian scenes. Beyond their impact on this release alone, these tracks also serve to increase expectations of what may come when a Witchcraft full-length is finally unleashed.  

Given the admiration that each of these band had already previously garnered, Nighermancie / Black Candle Invoker proves that the outcome of such a seemingly ideal pairing can even surpass its anticipated result. In the meantime, hear two new tracks from the split LP – Perverted Ceremony‘s “Light the Inverted Candles” and Witchcraft‘s “Diablerie” – HERE at Nuclear War Now!‘s Bandcamp. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Perverted Cermony & Witchcraft’s Nighermancie / Black Candle Invoker

1. Perverted Ceremony – Nighermancie
2. Perverted Ceremony – In Sin with the Goat
3. Perverted Ceremony – Light the Inverted Candles
4. Perverted Ceremony – The 7 Liberated Arts
5. Witchcraft – Diablerie
6. Witchcraft – Bewitchment at the Avernus Gate
7. Witchcraft – Seventh Sabbath Night

Related posts

WITCHCRAFT’s acoustic affair, “Black Metal”, out now on Nuclear Blast!


WITCHCRAFT premieres new song from upcoming acoustic album “Black Metal”!


WITCHCRAFT to release acoustic album! “Black Metal” coming this May on Nuclear Blast!


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.