DAWN RAY’D premiere first single from upcoming album, Behold Sedition Plainsong

Photo credit: Teddie Taylor

Liverpool-based black metal trio, DAWN RAY’D, have today premiered the first single from their upcoming album, Behold Sedition Plainsong. The track – titled To All, To All, To All! –  and accompanying video is premiering now exclusively via Kerrang! and will hit streaming services this Friday. Behold Sedition Plainsong will be released on October 25 via Prosthetic Records; preorders are available now.

Watch the video for To All, To All, To All! via Kerrang!

Of the track, the band comments:
“The title is the opening line of the final communique released by the Kronstadt rebellion in Russia in 1921, which was an anarchist uprising. The lyrics are about the tragedy of those who uphold and support capitalism, despite the misery, drudgery, depression that comes with living under the system. There’s something terrible about being bludgeoned by something whilst still believing it’s there to benefit you.”

The video includes footage shot by Priya Sharma, and was edited by Thomas Gill.

The follow up to 2017’s The Unlawful AssemblyBehold Sedition Plainsong is a call to arms and a potential catalyst for positive radical change. The first audio from the album can be heard HERE in the form of evocative album intro, Raise The Flails, with its rallying cry -‘It’s time for new tales of resistance’. Behold Sedition Plainsong comprises of 11 tracks of what will surely become their trademark sound: pure black metal, shot through with sonic flecks of traditional folk.  Each song is an emotional response to a political struggle, with a clear focus on ecological destruction and anti-capitalism. 

DAWN RAY’D will tour around the release of the album; firstly in the UK, then a European mainland tour with False. Full tour dates can be found below with further live outings due to be confirmed in the near future.

Behold Sedition Plainsong will be available in physical (LP, CD) and digital formats. The vinyl will be available in Black (500 copies), Silver (200 copies, mail-order only), Dark Green (200 copies, mail-order only); both CD and LP versions are available as part of a T-shirt bundle. Click HERE for all purchase options.

1. Raise The Flails
2. The Smell Of Ancient Dust
3. Like Smoke Into Fog
4. To All, To All, To All!
5. A Time For Courage At The Borderlands
6. Songs In The Key Of Compromise
7. Until The Forge Goes Cold
8. A Stone’s Throw
9. Soon Will Be The Age of Lessons Learnt
10. Salvation Rite
11. The Curse, The Dappled Light

Upcoming DAWN RAY’D shows:

23 October – The Black Heart – London
24 October  – Venue TBC – Sheffield
25 October  – Stuck On A Name – Nottingham
26 October  – Rough Trade – Nottingham  *Free In Store*
27 October  – The Pipeline – Brighton
31 October – Mother’s Ruin – Bristol
01 November – Henry’s Cellar Bar – Edinburgh
2 November – Damnation Festival – Leeds

Dates with False:
7 November – Alte Meierei, Kiel, DE
8 November – Ungdomshuset, Copenhagen, DE
9 November – Mörtelwerk, Leipzig, DE
10 November – TBA, Prague, CZ
11 November – Zukunft am Ostkreuz, Berlin, DE
12 November – Music City, Antwerp, BE
13 November – De Onderbroek, Nijmegen, NL
14 November – PMK, Innsbruck, AT
15 November – Venster 99, Vienna, AT
16 November – Aurora, Budapest, HU
17 November – AKC Attack, Zagreb, CR
18 November – Sub, Graz, AT
19 November – Kochareal, Zurich, CH
20 November – TBA, Clermond Ferrand, FR
21 November – Espace B, Paris, FR
22 November – Jugend Kultur Cafe, Troisdorf, DE

31 December – Boston Music Room – London w/ Akercocke

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.