SINGULARITY – Tech-Death/Symphonic Black Metal Unit Launch “Serpentes, Eternal” At Invisible Oranges. Place of Chains out Oct. 11th via The Artisan Era

Tempe, Arizona-based technical death metal/symphonic black metal hybrid act Singularity recently announced the release of their second full-length, Place of Chains, out October 11th via The Artisan Era. It is the follow up to the group’s highly praised 2016 EP, Void Walker, which was preceded by their 2014 self-titled album that put the band on the map. 

Since their formation in 2010, Singularity has continually shown themselves to be a forward-thinking act, one with a bold vision built on fusing technical death metal and symphonic black metal together in a myriad of ways. Bombastic and brutal, Place of Chains exists as a unique crossover between worlds, in doing so, Singularity has delivered a powerful album that will surely be ranked among as one of 2019’s best death metal releases. Further enhancing the quality of Place of Chains is a bevy of high profile guest spots from Inferi guitarist Malcolm Pugh adding further orchestration throughout the album, a song co-written by Equipoise guitarist Nick Padovani plus a guest solo, as well as guest vocals from Arkaik vocalist Jared Christianson and Animus Complex vocalist Jeremy Davis.

The band states that Place of Chains will strongly appeal to fans of Fleshgod Apocalypse, Vale of Pnath, Old Man’s Child, Dimmu Borgir, and the first album from Irreversible Mechanism.

Today the band partnered with Invisible Oranges to launch the albums third single, “Serpentes, Eternal. 

You can listen to Singularity – “Serpentes, Eternal” HERE

Invisible Oranges comments on the premiere of “Serpentes, Eternal”
“A perfect microcosm of Singularity’s special stylistic amalgam, “Serpentes, Eternal” presents a fascinating integration between the hyperspeed clockwork of tech-death and the diminished gothic tonalities of black metal. As the jagged precision of its spiraling central riff meets piano arpeggios and synths lurking beneath pummeling double bass, the interstellar prison-world setting of Place of Chains is illustrated in bleak detail. Much of Singularity’s approach is rooted primarily in tech-death, of course, especially in the guttural and staccato texture of the band’s vocals and percussion, the latter of which is provided by Nathan Bigelow of tech-death stalwarts Arkaik.

In a welcome fusion, however, black metal tonalities and harmonic inflections are woven between these sharpened bursts of technicality, with the dense synthesizer acrobatics of late keyboardist Nick Pompliano providing the groundwork for the record’s symphonic splendor. The final moments of “Serpentes, Eternal” shift gears into a freakish hybrid between an arachnid breakdown and a frozen tremolo march of black metal percussion, providing compelling proof that Singularity’s recipe is as versatile as it is novel.”
 INTERVIEW ALERT: Singularity is still available for interviews. Please send us a message if you would like to speak with the band.

Singularity – Place of Chains pre-orders are now live

Singularity – Place of Chains Tracklist
1. Bellum
2. Victory or Death
3. Sisyphean Cycle
4. Ritual of Regret
5. Consume and Assume
6. Desmoterion
7. Serpentes, Eternal
8. Dead Receptors
9. As Dark As This Nefarious Night

Singularity – Place of Chains Line-up
Jack Fliegler – Guitar, Vocals (ToxicxEternity, ex-Hemoptysis) 
Adam King – Bass, Vocals ( Depraved Heretic, ex-live for Arkaik)
Nick Pompliano (RIP) – Keyboards 
Nathan Bigelow – Drums (Arkaik, ex-Alterbeast, Solar Impulse)

Social Media Links
The Artisan Era YouTube Channel

Related posts

SINGULARITY – Tech-Death/Black Metal Unit Launch Full Stream of Place of Chains At Metal Injection


SINGULARITY – Tech-Death/Symphonic Black Metal Unit Launch “Sisyphean Cycle” At Everything Is Noise. Place of Chains out Oct. 11th via The Artisan Era


SINGULARITY – Tech-Death/Symphonic Black Metal Unit To Release Place of Chains on October 11th via The Artisan Era


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More