HYPNO5E – French Cinematic Metal Collective To Release New Full-Length Via Pelagic This November

French cinematic technical post-metal collective HYPNO5E will unleash their monolithic A Distant (Dark) Source full-length via Pelagic Records on November 22nd.
Having forged the term “cinematic metal” with their truly epicscope compositions, oftentimes exceeding not only the ten- but the twenty-minute mark, HYPNO5E seamlessly merges elements of contemporary metal with Latin folk, and film-score like sonic landscapes. Following 2018’s special acoustic album, Alba – Les Ombres Errantes, the Southern French quartet return with a more “typical” HYPNO5E record, if there is such a thing. Fifth album, A Distant (Dark) Source, serves as the second part of a diptych album project. Each part will be released separately, starting with the second one.  
A Distant (Dark) Source is an inward journey to the land of the ghosts of the past. At the origin of this distant dark source lies Tauca, an old Paleolithic lake located in Bolivia, where singer and guitarist Emmanuel Jessua has grown up, and continues to find inspiration for his musical endeavors.
Lake Tauca disappeared more than 15,000 years ago, leaving behind an arid land and salt lakes, like the Salt Desert of Uyuni or Coipasa, at 4.500m of altitude in the Andes mountain range. A Distant (Dark) Source is the musical imagination of a night in this desert, during which the old shores of the lake see the return of the shadows of the people who used to live in this area before its disappearance. A man comes back to the lake to look for the shadow of the woman he loved. The album tells the story of this ephemeral return.
In advance of the release of A Distant (Dark) Source, Metal Injection unveils HYPNO5E‘s epic, eighteen-minute video or the record’s thee-part title track.  
View the stunning clip — directed by Jessua — courtesy of Metal Injection, at THIS LOCATION.  

A Distant (Dark) Source is the second part of this story and takes place during one single night… but don’t be deterred by such conceptual enthusiasm, as HYPNO5E‘s sound is powerful, visceral, and immediate. There are moments that remind you of the expansive technical elaborations of Between The Buried And Me, but there is also the careful melancholia of Cynic and the sheer power of Gojira… but in the end, all these comparisons fail. HYPNO5E‘s organic sound is undoubtedly their own. Unlike so many bands who rely on a single sound or technique to create their music, HYPNO5E are not bound to any precondition. Fans of Cynic, Between The Buried And Me, Gojira, Meshuggah, Opeth, Cult Of Luna, Pink Floyd, Tesseract, Soen, and Monuments pay heed.  
A Distant (Dark) Source will be released on CD, 2xLP, and digital formats. See all preordering options below:  
North America:

A Distant (Dark) Source Track Listing:
1. On The Dry Lake
2. In The Blue Glow Of Dawn – Part I
3. In The Blue Glow Of Dawn – Part II
4. In The Blue Glow Of Dawn – Part III
5. A Distant Dark Source – Part I
6. A Distant Dark Source – Part II
7. A Distant Dark Source – Part III
8. On Our Bed Of Soil – Part I
9. On Our Bed Of Soil – Part I
10. On Our Bed Of Soil – Part III
11. Tauca – Part II (Nowhere)
Emmanuel Jessue- guitar, lead vocals, piano
Jonathan Maurois – guitar
Cedric Pages – bass
Théo Begue – drums

Related posts

HYPNO5E – French Avant-Garde Metal Outfit To Release Sheol Full-Length February 24th Via Pelagic Records


HYPNO5E – Toilet Ov Hell Streams A Distant (Dark) Source From French Cinematic Post-Metal Unit


HYPNO5E – Heavy Blog Is Heavy Debuts “Tauca – Part II (Nowhere)” Video From French Cinematic Post-Metal Collective


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More