DESPISED ICON – discuss the artwork for “Purgatory”!

In less than a month, Canadian deathcore pioneers DESPISED ICON will release their upcoming full length album, »Purgatory,« on November 15th via Nuclear Blast. Today, Alex Erian discusses the process of choosing the artists to create the album artwork. Watch as he details working with Eliran Kantor to produce a piece that echoed the themes and concepts of »Purgatory,« here:

»Purgatory« was produced by Yannick St-AmandEric Jarrin and Alex Erian. The music was recorded by DESPISED ICON‘s former guitar player, now current front of house engineer Yannick St-Amand while the vocals were recorded by close friend Antoine Lussier of ION DISSONANCE. Mixing and mastering were completed by CRYPTOPSY‘s very own Christian Donaldson at The Grid in Montréal.

Without a doubt their most dynamic venture to date, DESPISED ICON have a fresh and energy filled arrangement just waiting to see the light of day in the form of »Purgatory.« For many years, they have laid the foundation of deathcore and spearheaded different sounds and movements within the genre.

Pre-order »Purgatory« in the format of your choice:
Pre-order the album digitally to receive ‘Snake In The Grass’ and ‘Purgatory’ instantly (via amazon and iTunes only) or pre-save it via SpotifyDeezer & Apple Music
Listen to these and other tracks in the NB New Releases Playlists: /

»Purgatory« will be available in the following formats:

– Jewelcase CD
– Grey w/ Black Splatter Vinyl

More on »Purgatory«:
Trailer #1 – The Title Track, ‘Purgatory’:
Trailer #2 – Writing The Album »Purgatory«:
Trailer #3 – Recording »Purgatory«:
Trailer #4 – About ‘Snake In The Grass’:

»Purgatory« – Track Listing:

01. Dernier Souffle
02. Purgatory
03. Light Speed
04. Slow Burning
05. Snake In The Grass
06. Vies D’Anges
07. Moving On
08. Unbreakable
09. Apex Predator
10. Legacy
11. Dead Weight



26.07. – 01.08. SLO Tolmin – MetalDays
30.07. – 02.08. RO Rasnov – Rockstadt Extreme Fest
05. – 08.08. CZ Jaroměř – Brutal Assault

Alex Erian | vocals
Steve Marois | vocals
Eric Jarrin | guitar
Ben Landreville| guitar
Sebastian Piché | bass
Alex “Grind” Pelletier | drums

More info:

Related posts

DESPISED ICON – release guitar/bass playthrough for ‘Dead Weight’ + announce “Purgatory” tab book!


DESPISED ICON – release lyric video for new track ‘Light Speed’ + “Purgatory” out now!


DESPISED ICON – release music video for ‘Snake In The Grass’!


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.