Angry Metal Guy premieres death/doom band THE DROWNING’s latest full length

We’re thrilled to have Angry Metal Guy premiere the extremely well-received release of the death/doom metal band The Drowning AT THIS LINK. The stream is accompanied by a highly positive review in which the album received the near-perfect rating of 4.5/5, which is phenomenal given the platform’s high standards.

“Revel in the glory of quite possibly the best death-doom record released this year, and perhaps the decade”

– “The Drowning approach death metal with polish and precision” –Decibel Magazine (US)

– “one of the best death-doom records I’ve heard” – Heavy Blog Is Heavy (US)

– “the best I’ve heard of death/doom so far this year” – Dargedik

– “a superb album” – Metal Talk (UK) 10/10

– “a true masterpiece” – Twilight Magazin (Germany) 14/15

– “poignant and intoxicating” – Metal Only (Germany) 9.5/10

– “a death/doom masterpiece” – Metal Utopia (US) 9/10

– “one of the strongest death/doom albums of the year” – Heavy Music HQ (US)

– “essential UK band” – Musipedia of Metal (UK) 9/10

– “do not think of missing it” – Broken Tomb Magazine (Spain) 9/10

– “of the highest order” – Toilet ov Hell (US)

– “a dynamic listening experience” – No Clean Singing (US)

– “thrilling to listen to” – Headbanger Reviews (US)

– “solid release with some real potential” – Metal Temple (Greece)

– “aren’t quite like anything I have ever heard” – VM Underground (Netherlands)

– “a wonderful showcase of poignant power” – GBHBL (UK)

The Drowning (UK) – The Radiant Dark (November 8th, 2019)

Genre – Death/Doom Metal
Release Date – November 8th, 2019
Record Label – Transcending Obscurity Records
For fans of – Warcrab, Paradise Lost, My Dying Bride, Hex, Esogenesi, Evoken, Illimitable Dolor

The Drowning from UK pay tribute to the death/doom pioneers of the style but they add their own dynamics to the affair, balancing poignancy with pummelling aggression. Rarely has this been pulled off without disrupting the mood but The Drowning are surprisingly adept at it. It’s as if the pent up emotions are being channelled after an eloquent, meaningful expression. This keeps happening during the course of the wonderfully varied and interesting album, that adds a dimension to the standard UK death/doom that we’re well-acquainted with. The organic and sonorous production works with both aspects of their sound and only makes the emotions that much more palpable. Structurally rich, this album grows on you with each listen, and the outstanding performance by the vocalist in expressing grief and rage elevates it above other albums of this ilk.

Band lineup –
Steve Hart – Drums
Matt Small (AnakimVile Inscription) – Vocals
Jason Hodges – Guitar
Richard Moore (Desecration) – Bass
Mike Hitchen (My Silent Wake) – Guitar

Artwork and layout by Matt Vickerstaff (Darkthrone)

Track listing –
1. Alpha Orionis
2. The Triumph of the Wolf in Death
3. Prometheus Blinded
4. In Cold Earth
5. All that we need of Hell
6. Harrowed Path
7. I Carve the Heart from the Universe
8. Blood Marks My Grave

Official Bandcamp

Transcending Obscurity Site

Transcending Obscurity Official YouTube Channel

Transcending Obscurity Records Facebook

The Drowning Facebook

Related posts

Decibel Magazine premieres official video of death/doom powerhouse THE DROWNING


Death/doom metal band THE DROWNING announce new full length


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.