NOCTURNAL DEPRESSION premiere new track at Black Metal Promotion

Today, depressive black metal pioneers Nocturnal Depression premiere the new track “Living in a Mass Grave” at heavily trafficked YouTube channel Black Metal Promotion. The track hails from the band’s highly anticipated ninth album, Tides of Despair, set for international release on November 25th via Sun & Moon Records. Hear Nocturnal Depression‘s “Living in a Mass Grave” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

French masters of nostalgic, depressive black metal, Nocturnal Depression return with their latest opus, the ever-aptly-titled Tides of Despair. A special occasion to say the very least, 2019 sees the return of Herr Suizid, founding member of the band who left in 2012, rejoining with fellow founder Lord Lokhraed. As a result, Tides of Despair has all the elements which make Nocturnal Depression stand out from all the thousands of cliche DSBM pretenders, many of whom were inspired by the band’s pioneering early works in the mid-2000s: immediately memorable riffs, achingly melodic leads, dramatic tension, and altogether dynamic songwriting.
 Surprisingly, Tides of Despair begins in quite a positive manner – but deceptively so, as Nocturnal Depression soon embark on a gloomy, atmospheric journey, guiding the listener onward into an exhaustingly emotional turmoil. Claustrophobic somberness comes to a climax on the perfectly titled “Living in a Mass Grave,” forlorn acoustic moments abound, despair and depression suitably mark songs like “Solitude and Despair Again” and “Farewell Letter,” epic gloom in “Muse of Suicide,” and all concluding with the bleak and melancholic “Reveries.” Throughout, the surprises continue with the integration of French horn, pianos, chimes, and bells, with a multitude of guests from different bands (Psychonaut 4, Sarkrista, Tulpa, Darkend, Selvans) making the album even more refreshing. Completed by mixing & mastering courtesy of Alessandro “Algol” Comerio from Forgotten Tomb/Hiems, Nocturnal Depression prove with Tides of Despair that both the past is alive and the future is bleak!

Find out for yourself with the brand-new track “Living in a Mass Grave” exclusively HERE, courtesy of Black Metal Promotion. Preorder info can be found HERE. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Nocturnal Depression’s Tides of Despair
1. Drowning Myself
2. Tides of Despair
3. Living in a Mass Grave
4. Solitude and Despair Again
5. Slit My Wrists
6. Farewell Letter
7. Muse of Suicide
8. Reveries


Related posts

NOCTURNAL DEPRESSION stream new SUN & MOON album at Black Metal Daily


NOCTURNAL DEPRESSION set release date for new SUN & MOON album


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.