DESPISED ICON – release lyric video for new track ‘Light Speed’ + “Purgatory” out now!

Canadian deathcore pioneers DESPISED ICON are proud to release their sixth full length album, »Purgatory,« via Nuclear Blast today. In celebration of the record, the band offer a lyric video for the new song ‘Light Speed.’ Check it out here:

Guitarist Eric Jarrin comments, “It’s with great pleasure that we release our new album »Purgatory.« We gave everything we had on this one and a lot of heart and soul went into the making of these songs. This is 100% DESPISED ICON!”

Order »Purgatory« now:
Listen to ‘Light Speed’ and other new tracks in the NB New Releases Playlists: /

»Purgatory« is available in the following formats:

– Jewelcase CD
– Grey w/ Black Splatter Vinyl

»Purgatory« – Track Listing:

01. Dernier Souffle
02. Purgatory
03. Light Speed
04. Slow Burning
05. Snake In The Grass
06. Vies D’Anges
07. Moving On
08. Unbreakable
09. Apex Predator
10. Legacy
11. Dead Weight

»Purgatory« was produced by Yannick St-AmandEric Jarrin and Alex Erian. The music was recorded by DESPISED ICON‘s former guitar player, now current front of house engineer Yannick St-Amand while the vocals were recorded by close friend Antoine Lussier of ION DISSONANCE. Mixing and mastering were completed by CRYPTOPSY‘s very own Christian Donaldson at The Grid in Montréal.

Without a doubt their most dynamic venture to date, DESPISED ICON have a fresh and energy filled arrangement just waiting to see the light of day in the form of »Purgatory.« For many years, they have laid the foundation of deathcore and spearheaded different sounds and movements within the genre.

More on »Purgatory«:
Trailer #1 – The Title Track, ‘Purgatory’:
Trailer #2 – Writing The Album »Purgatory«:
Trailer #3 – Recording »Purgatory«:
Trailer #4 – About ‘Snake In The Grass’:
Trailer #5 – »Purgatory« Artwork:
Trailer #6 – Lyrical Concepts On »Purgatory«:
Trailer #7 – Pioneers Of Deathcore:



26.07. – 01.08. SLO Tolmin – MetalDays
30.07. – 02.08. RO Rasnov – Rockstadt Extreme Fest
05. – 08.08. CZ Jaroměř – Brutal Assault

Alex Erian | vocals
Steve Marois | vocals
Eric Jarrin | guitar
Ben Landreville| guitar
Sebastian Piché | bass
Alex “Grind” Pelletier | drums

More info:

Related posts

DECAPITATED & DESPISED ICON European co-headliner tour announced!


DESPISED ICON announce anniversary re-issues of early albums Pre-sale starts today!


DESPISED ICON – release guitar/bass playthrough for ‘Dead Weight’ + announce “Purgatory” tab book!


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.