POLARIS – announce new album “The Death Of Me” + launch pre-orders

Sydney metalcore outfit POLARIS are proud to announce the details of their highly anticipated second studio album, “The Death Of Me”, due to be released on 21st February 2020 via SharpTone Records. It’s been two years since POLARIS released their ARIA-nominated, Australian top 10 debut “The Mortal Coil” which introduced the group to legions of fans around the country and, thanks to an extensive international touring schedule, the world.

The Death Of Me” pre-order is available HERE: https://www.shrptn.co/polaris

When it came time to make their new album, “The Death Of Me”, the Sydney outfit knew they had a tall order on their hands.

“We wanted to walk a line between maintaining what’s defined our band and brought people to our music in the first place, while trying to write for ourselves and keep ourselves interested,” begins drummer Daniel Furnari, one of the main songwriters in the unit. “Being our second full-length, we knew it was important for us to surprise the listener as well – nobody wants to hear the same record twice. We wanted to give them things they wouldn’t expect, take them to new places, but also for it to be definitively a POLARISrecord, building on what we’ve been working towards.”

POLARIS returned to the house in the small Australian South Coast town of Mollymook where they made “The Mortal Coil”, converting it into a temporary studio. The familiar surrounds acted as something of a refuge after the high-pressure claustrophobia of touring. Accompanying the band was their front of house sound engineer, Lance Prenc, and long-time friend Scott Simpson (of Melbourne band Alpha Wolf), both of whom co-produced the album with the band. They tried a few new approaches to song writing, with tracks such as the anthemic first single, Masochist’ starting life as a vocal melody, around which the riffs were built, as opposed to the other way around.

Watch the music video for Masochist’ here: https://youtu.be/jmU2HH0LHmY

As the main lyric writer in POLARISFurnari warns that “The Death Of Me” contains some of the bleakest material he’s ever penned, with recurring lyrical motifs and ideas floating throughout.

“We’ve experienced more of the world and gone out of our comfort zone, and I think that’s audible in the music,” says Furnari“I think a lot of things people enjoyed about “The Mortal Coil” we’ve managed to retain, but we’ve stretched the envelope further in every direction of what we consider to be our sound. I just don’t think we could have thought of most of this stuff two years ago.”

“The Death Of Me” track listing:
01. Pray For Rain
02. Hypermania
03. Masochist
04. Landmine
05. Vagabond
06. Creatures Of Habit
07. Above My Head
08. Martyr (Waves)
09. All Of This Is Fleeting
10. The Descent

In the two years since “The Mortal Coil”POLARIS have embarked on three sold-out headlining tours of Australia, as well as supporting ARCHITECTS and PARKWAY DRIVE around the country; five runs throughout Europe (including a series of arena shows supporting ARCHITECTS and a slew of high-profile summer festival spots); three separate US tours; not to mention performing at Download Festival in Australia. Somewhere in there, the quintet found time to write “The Death Of Me”.

This month POLARIS will be returning to the UK and Europe. They will be playing as special guests to NORTHLANE, alongside SILENT PLANET and VOID OF VISION with a run of six UK show dates next week. Tickets are on sale now via the below links!

Catch POLARIS live on the following dates: 

26.11.19 UK    Leeds – Stylus
27.11.19 UK    Manchester – Academy 2
28.11.19 UK    Southampton – Engine Rooms
29.11.19 UK    Glasgow – Garage
30.11.19 UK    Birmingham – o2 Academy 2
01.12.19 UK    London – Electric Brixton
03.12.19 NL    Haarlem – Patronaat
04.12.19 DK    Copenhagen – Hotel Cecil
05.12.19 SWE Eskilstuna – Lokomotivet
07.12.19 FI      Helsinki – On the Rocks
09.12.19 SWE Gothenburg – Trädgårn 
10.12.19 D      Hamburg – Markthalle
11.12.19 D       Berlin – SO36
12.12.19 PL     Warsaw – Proxima
13.12.19 D       Leipzig – Conne Island
14.12.19 CZ     Prague – Palac Akropolis
15.12.19 AT     Wien – Flex
17.12.19 D      München – Backstage
18.12.19 CH    Aarau – Kiff
19.12.19 LUX  Luxemburg – den Atelier
20.12.19 D      Köln – Essigfabrik
21.12.19 D      Wiesbaden – Schlachthof

More on »The Mortal Coil«:
‘Dusk To Day’ music video: https://youtu.be/S-5YU6kFZso
‘The Remedy’ music video: https://youtu.be/WWurkdQBlAE
‘Lucid’ music video: https://youtu.be/Pj1m7TuSGBs

www.polarisaus.au.com | www.sharptonerecords.co

Related posts

POLARIS – announce European Winter tour


POLARIS – announce European tour


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.