DESPISED ICON – release guitar/bass playthrough for ‘Dead Weight’ + announce “Purgatory” tab book!

Last month, Canadian deathcore pioneers DESPISED ICON unleashed their sixth full length album, »Purgatory,« via Nuclear Blast. Today the band has launched a guitar and bass playthrough for ‘Dead Weight’ featuring Eric JarrinBen Landreville and Sebastien Piché. Watch the video here:

Eric Jarrin comments, “We chose ‘Dead Weight’ because we feel it’s one of the most complete songs on the album, musically speaking. It showcases technical riffs, slam parts, tremolo picking, breakdowns, a guitar solo and even a bass solo! It has everything.”

Last week, the band announced the release of their very first tab book courtesy of their friends at Sheet Happens Publishing. The printed & digital books come with an instant download pack containing the print-ready guitar book PDF (eBook) and the complete Guitar Pro files. Purchase your DESPISED ICON»Purgatory« tab book here:

Order »Purgatory« now:
Listen to the band’s and other new tracks in the NB New Releases Playlists: /

»Purgatory« is available in the following formats:

– Jewelcase CD
– Grey w/ Black Splatter Vinyl

»Purgatory« – Track Listing:

01. Dernier Souffle
02. Purgatory
03. Light Speed
04. Slow Burning
05. Snake In The Grass
06. Vies D’Anges
07. Moving On
08. Unbreakable
09. Apex Predator
10. Legacy
11. Dead Weight

»Purgatory« was produced by Yannick St-AmandEric Jarrin and Alex Erian. The music was recorded by DESPISED ICON‘s former guitar player, now current front of house engineer Yannick St-Amand while the vocals were recorded by close friend Antoine Lussier of ION DISSONANCE. Mixing and mastering were completed by CRYPTOPSY‘s very own Christian Donaldson at The Grid in Montréal.

Without a doubt their most dynamic venture to date, DESPISED ICON have a fresh and energy filled arrangement just waiting to see the light of day in the form of »Purgatory.« For many years, they have laid the foundation of deathcore and spearheaded different sounds and movements within the genre.

More on »Purgatory«:
Trailer #1 – The Title Track, ‘Purgatory’:
Trailer #2 – Writing The Album »Purgatory«:
Trailer #3 – Recording »Purgatory«:
Trailer #4 – About ‘Snake In The Grass’:
Trailer #5 – »Purgatory« Artwork:
Trailer #6 – Lyrical Concepts On »Purgatory«:
Trailer #7 – Pioneers Of Deathcore:
Trailer #8 – Hide And Seek At Amoeba Music In L.A.:



26.07. – 01.08. SLO Tolmin – MetalDays
30.07. – 02.08. RO Rasnov – Rockstadt Extreme Fest
05. – 08.08. CZ Jaroměř – Brutal Assault

Alex Erian | vocals
Steve Marois | vocals
Eric Jarrin | guitar
Ben Landreville | guitar
Sebastien Piché | bass
Alex “Grind” Pelletier | drums

More info:

Related posts

DECAPITATED & DESPISED ICON European co-headliner tour announced!


DESPISED ICON announce anniversary re-issues of early albums Pre-sale starts today!


DESPISED ICON – release lyric video for new track ‘Light Speed’ + “Purgatory” out now!


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.