WUW premiere new single; ‘Rétablir L’Eternité’ released later this month

photo credit: Brain Ravaux

Fraternal Parisian duo, WUW have today premiered a new track from their upcoming album, Rétablir L’Eternité. The single, En Souvenir Des Jours Que Nous N’Aurons Pas Vécus, will be on all streaming platforms this coming Friday, but an early listen is available now courtesy of Invisible Oranges, alongside an interview with the band. Rétablir L’Eternité will be released via Prosthetic Records on March 27, pre-orders are available now.


Of the track, the band comments:“This track is about loss and mourning, past ones and future ones, and how to live as peacefully as possible with these feelings. One of the most common and oldest feelings in the world.”
Rétablir L’Eternité is an invitation to slow down and immerse yourself in experimental, progressive instrumental missives. Composed and recorded between January 2018 and June 2019 in their own studio just outside Paris, brothers Benjamin and Guillaume Colin’s writing for Rétablir L’Eternité was more instinctive than ever. By allowing their unconscious to permeate their output, the music of WuW serves as a form of catharsis for its creators – letting the unknown be known.
On the recording, they enlisted the saxophone skills of Bruce Lamont (Yakuza, Corrections House), whilst Sam Kün (Welcome-X) uses his voice as an instrument – a musical effect – rather than as traditional singing. Mixing was handled by Benjamin, before being mastered by Collin Jordan at Boiler Room in Chicago.
The classical-meets-experimental ethos of WuW means that Rétablir L’Eternité may be welcome listening for fans of Amenra, Anna von Hausswolff or Ben Frost, however they are a band that remain elusive in terms of easy categorisation. Their cinematic soundscapes are heavier on the drone-ambient and metal elements compared to their debut, but the tracks on Rétablir L’Eternité retain a majestic and purifying quality. The artist Brian Cougar has captured this feeling of dark vertigo in the spellbinding artwork. 
The album title translates approximately to ‘restore eternity’ which for the brothers means that they hope the album offers listeners a chance to take a moment out from the present and to envelope themselves in the moment; just a small part of eternity.

Rétablir L’Eternité track list:

  1. Ce Silence Qui Nous Délivre De Tout
  2. Danser Dans Le Champ Des Battements Du Temps
  3. Assiégé Par Les Cris Du Sursis
  4. En Souvenir Des Jours Que Nous N’Aurons Pas Vécus
  5. Dans L’Intense Clarté De La Solitude

Related posts

WUW premiere video for Ce Silence Qui Nous Délivre De Tout


WUW announce details of new album; release first single


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More