CALLIGRAM stream new album, ‘The Eye Is The First Circle’ via Decibel

London-based international five-piece, CALLIGRAM, are streaming their new album, The Eye Is The First Circle, exclusively via Decibel magazine. The Eye Is The First Circle will be released tomorrow, April 10, preorders are available now


The band comment:
“Our new album, The Eye is the First Circle, is finally available to listen to thanks to Decibel. We wanted it to be the fastest and filthiest record we have made to date and we hope you’ll enjoy it as much as we do. Long live blackened crust, baby!”

The Eye Is The First Circle is an eight track pummelling of raucous guitars, d-beat rhythms and lyrics sung entirely in Italian. The album title derives from a Ralph Waldo Emerson essay titled Circles which starts: “The eye is the first circle: the horizon which it forms is the second; and throughout nature this primary figure is repeated without end.” Although the essay is about the transience of life and the ever-evolving aspect of nature, the band chose to give the first sentence a new meaning by interpreting the image of the circle that surrounds every person as a sphere within which one has a duty of care towards the people around them. This message of love acts as a counterpoint to the negative and pessimistic lyrics, and gives a sense of purpose to an otherwise seemingly meaningless existence.

Recorded, mixed and mastered by Lewis Johns at The Ranch Production House during October 2019, The Eye Is The First Circle is an abrasive, relentless ball of energy, designed to short circuit nerves upon first listen. Ultimately, CALLIGRAM have made the album they want to listen to – the album that’s missing from their record collection; an album that says what nobody else was saying to them. The Eye Is The First Circle is a complex and multilayered experience, crammed into a little over half an hour of playing time.  

The Eye Is The First Circle – track list:

1. Carne
2. Serpe 
3. Vivido Perire
4. La Cura
5. Kenosis
6. Anedonia
7. Pensiero Debole
8. Un dramma vuoto e insanabile

Related posts

CALLIGRAM share new single, ‘Ostranenie’


CALLIGRAM share new single and music video, ‘Frantumi In Itinere’


CALLIGRAM announce new album, ‘Position | Momentum’; Lead single and music video, ‘Ex-Sistere’, out now


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More