KURNUGIA premiere new track at

Midwest death metal royalty Kurnugia premiere the new track “Pervert the Pious” at heavily trafficked web-portal The track hails from the band’s highly anticipated debut album, Forlorn and Forsaken, set for international release on April 27th via Memento Mori. Hear Kurnugia‘s “Pervert the Pious” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

Hailing from the rustbelt metal hotbed of Cleveland, Ohio, Kurnugia was founded by ex-members of Decrepit, Nunslaughter, Embalmer, December Wolves, and Delusion. Not surprisingly, this assembly of seasoned underground veterans is heavily influenced by the classic death metal of the early ’90s, and that’s exactly what Kurnugia aim for: to go back right to the roots of the genre and pay homage to the deeds of old, unaware of gimmicks, trends, and mindless experimentation – no more, and definitely no less!

Kurnugia delivered their debut EP, Tribulations of the Abyss, in 2013 and then followed it with another EP, Condemned to Obscurity, in 2016. All too teasing have been these short-length assaults, but at last arrives Kurnugia‘s debut album. Aptly titled, Forlorn and Forsaken is ancient aural debauchery, delivered with evil intent, rotting and heinous. Fittingly, this full-length encapsulates everything Kurnugia have stood for to date – crushing riffery, divebombing solos, tight tank-treads of rhythm, all delivered with swift simplicity of design – but upratcheting the production to a clear ‘n’ cutting devastation. Well-produced but not too “well-produced,” Forlorn and Forsaken still seeps with a primordial heaviness rooted in classic death metal songcraft, nodding to (but not ripping off) the seminal works of Immolation, Grave, Incantation, Autopsy, Entombed, Cianide, Morbid Angel, Dismember, Death, Unleashed, Deicide, and Benediction. And of course, this classicism is reflected in Mark Cooper’s attention-grabbing cover art.

You can’t teach old dogs new tricks, the cliche goes, but you CAN let those dogs do what they do best: proudly stick to the early ’90s traditions of death metal. That’s been Memento Mori‘s MO since day one, and they hereby welcome you into Kurnugia‘s netherworld with Forlorn and Forsaken!

Take the next step into that netherworld with the brand-new track “Pervert the Pious” exclusively HERE, courtesy of The steps into that netherworld can be taken with the previously revealed “Eroded Faith” exclusively HERE, courtesy of, and the previously revealed “To the Cursed Depths” HERE at Memento Mori‘s official YouTube channel. Aforementioned cover art and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Kurnugia (U.S.)’s Forlorn and Forsaken

1. Intro
2. To the Cursed Depths
3. Crown of Suffer
4. Shroud of Damnation
5. Pervert the Pious
6. Eroded Faith
7. Thy Sanguine Altar
8. All Consuming Grief
9. Decaying Serenades
10. When the Moment of Death Arrives


Related posts

KURNUGIA premiere new track at


KURNUGIA set release date for MEMENTO MORI debut, reveal first track


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More