AN AUTUMN FOR CRIPPLED CHILDREN release new single, ‘Water’s Edge’

The elusive ANAUTUMN FOR CRIPPLED CHILDREN have today released a new single titled Water’s Edge. The Dutch trio are preparing to release All fell silent, everything went quiet – their debut release for Prosthetic Records. Water’s Edge is available to stream everywhere now – and Brookyln Vegan have premiered the accompanying music video HEREAll fell silent, everything went quiet is available to preorder now

Of the track, the band comment:
Water’s Edge is about special places from one’s childhoods – those kind of places that hold real sentimental value. Thinking back to such places brings up mixed feeling of loss, nostalgia, of missing a certain moment in time or missing a special place long gone, and yearning for people from our pasts. The song is about times that were good, but that we can never get back.”

For over a decade now, AN AUTUMN FOR CRIPPLED CHILDREN have been emitting their distinctive amalgam of abrasive black metal and melodic shoegaze from behind a lush veil of synths and strings. Although their original inspirations – black metal and 90’s doom/goth bands – can still be detected in new material, they have evolved to incorporate so much more. Unrestrained by genre boundaries, they have created a ten track chronology of the human condition that heaves under the weight of both distortion and emotion. Vibrant melody provides a counterpoint to bleak soundscapes and harsh vocals.

Embracing an insular approach to their output, All fell silent, everything went quiet was recorded, engineered, mixed and mastered by the band. The cover art was also created by the trio, with all elements of the record shaped by their collective vision. The final package delivers an emotional gut punch of melancholic ruminations.

Opting to remain anonymous, and with live performances yet to be realised, AN AUTUMN FOR CRIPPLED CHILDREN channel everything they want to communicate via their recorded output. Often incomprehensible, the lyrics still transmit honest sentiments in a way that has resonated with fans since their first release. The universal nature of love, death life, loss, pain and misery is condensed into majestic instrumental passages and verbalised through a choir of multiple instruments, of which the human voice is just one.  

All fell silent, everything went quiet will be released via Prosthetic Records on May 1.

All fell silent, everything went quiet track list
1. I Became You
2. Water’s Edge
3. Everlasting
4. Paths
5. Silver
6. None More Pale
7. All Fell Silent, Everything Went Quiet
8. The Failing Senses
9. Craving Silence

Related posts

AN AUTUMN FOR CRIPPLED CHILDREN – All Fell Silent, Everything Went Quiet Full-Length Out Now And Streaming Via Prosthetic Records


AN AUTUMN FOR CRIPPLED CHILDREN unveil new video ahead of album release


AN AUTUMN FOR CRIPPLED CHILDREN announce new album via Prosthetic Records


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.