Prog Rockers AIRBAG Release New Single From Upcoming Album

Karisma Records have given fans of AIRBAG another insight into the Prog Rockers long-awaited new album “A Day at the Beach” with the release of the single “Sunsets”, about which the band says:

Sunsets was written during the early stages of making the new album. We spent a lot of time trying different arrangements and just jamming together, which was something we hadn’t done for a while. We brought in Kristian Hultgren from Wobbler on bass and Ole Michael Bjørndal from Oak on guitar and they both contributed to the arrangements. As with the first single, Machines and Men, Sunsets has that contrast between hard edge rock and electronic elements, which is something we’ve tried to achieve throughout this album. The lyrics deal with the destructive forces of our lives and our society, perhaps underlining the overall theme of the album.

“Sunsets” can be streamed or downloaded at

“A Day at the Beach” is the fifth full-length from the band that has been hailed as one of the most important bands to emerge from the Norwegian Prog scene since its formation in the mid 2000’s, and whose lineup today includes AIRBAG’s two original founding members Asle Tostrup on vocals and Bjørn Riis on guitars, with Henrik Bergan Fossum on drums.

AIRBAG have always been able to blend diverse musical styles and sounds, something they combine with a strong narrative experience, and, for “A Day at the Beach”, the trio’s signature guitar driven progressive rock has been enhanced by ethereal soundscapes, resulting in  a stunning selection of songs that reveal  a now-mature band building on its already impressive legacy.

With six new songs recorded during the  autumn and winter of 2019-20, and inspired  by the resurgence of 1980’s electronica, new wave and movie scores, “A Day at the Beach” will be AIRBAG’s first as a trio and the band recently had this to say about the album:

The album is the result of a strong collaboration between all three of us. Having lost two original members since our last album, we were forced to rethink how we write and create new music, but it also allowed us to venture into something new that turned out to be very inspiring.

Lyrically, “A Day at the Beach” is very much a story of us and them, told by a husband, father and brother leaving his family behind into an unknown future. It’s the contrast between the desperate individual struggling to survive and people in power observing at a safe distance.

A Day at the Beach” is mixed by long-time collaborator Vegard Kleftås Sleipnes. Jacob Holm-Lupo has mastered the album, and Asle Tostrup and Bjørn Riis handled the production side.   With  cover design, as always, by vocalist Tostrup.   Track listing for “A Day at the Beach” is as follows:

1. Machines and Men
2. A Day at the Beach (Part 1)
3. Into the Unknown
4. Sunsets
5. A Day at the Beach (Part 2)
6. Megalomaniac

“A Day at the Beach” will hit the streets on the 19th June, and will be available in CD, Digital and both black and coloured vinyls,  and is now available to pre-order from:


More information about AIRBAG can be found on the band’s website at  or on Facebook at

A video of AIRBAG performing in Quebec in 2019 can be seen at


Related posts

Prog Rockers AIRBAG Reveal Details And New Single From Upcoming Fifth Full-Length Album


Karisma Records To Release Second Vinyl From AIRBAG Back Catalogue


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More