HELLBOUND – Overlords – swamp metal from northern sweden

Swedish supergroup Hellbound (Umeå, Sweden) is finally ready to release their new album. It’s been 7 long years from their debut album Through Hell and Muddy Waters. But it’s been worth the wait! 

Earth shaking heavy, groovy metal with strong hints of both industrial and heavy metal. Overlords is an 8 track album clocking in just under 40 minutes and is truly well-produced piece of metal album featuring guest appearances by metal royalty such as Ralf Scheepers (Primal Fear, lead vocals on Screaming in the dark) and Anders Engberg (Sorcerer, choirs on all the tracks). Each song stands on its own but together they grow even stronger and throughout the album you will discover ear candy details like horns, keyboards, horror movie samples, various sound effects, heavy metal choirs, and much more adding to a rich listening experience!

Formed in Umeå 2011 by former lead guitarist of Nocturnal Rites Nils Norberg together with Miika Rudin from local sludge outfit Scumkill. Together they wrote and dispanded their first album, quickly writing new material and recruited bass player Nicklas Bäckström from extreme prog metallers Moloken to finish a new better album. In 2012, they released the acclaimed debut album “Through Hell and Muddy Waters” and made their live debut at the international metal festival “House of Metal festival” in their hometown of Umeå with Thomas Olsson (Apostasy, ex-F.K.‹., ex-The Project Hate MCMXCIX) as a session drummer. After the show David Ekevärn (Mortuus, ex Apostasy, ex Ghamorean) was recruited as 
full-time drummer.

In 2013 founder Nils Norberg felt a loss of inspiration and left the band, leaving the remaining band members hungry for more and recruited guitar players Henrik Mikaelsson (ex Hate Ammo, ex Live Elephant) and Mathias Nylén (ex Live Elephant) to take the band further and write the follow-up album that you are about to hear. Hellbound’s music has been described as Hillbilly-metal, Swamp-metal and “The bastard child of Rob Zombie and Dolly Parton”. Their fame will continue to rise with the release of Overlords!

Listen to Overlords here:

  1. Too Fast to Die
  2. Seven Seas of Pain
  3. Overlords
  4. Out of Time
  5. Towers Burning
  6. Screaming in the Dark (feat. Ralf Scheepers)
  7. Atlantis Rise
  8. Hand of Death

Line up:
Miika Rudin: Vocals
Henrik Mikaelsson: Guitar
Mathias Nylén: Guitar
Nicklas Bäckström: Bass
David Ekevärn: Drums

Overlord video:

Towers Burning video:


Related posts

HELLBOUND – new video “Screaming In The Dark” feat Ralf Scheepers (Primal Fear) out now!


Swedish metal band HELLBOUND releases second video “Towers Burning”


HELLBOUND – new video and album announcement


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More