Decibel Magazine premieres new track of Finnish death metal band SEPULCHRAL CURSE

Finnish death metal band Sepulchral Curse have crafted an ingenious album bringing together elements of classic as well as contemporary death metal while retaining that Finnish touch. Check out the latest Decibel premiere AT THIS LINK.

“Sepulchral Curse will burn it all down on July 31 when they release their album, but for now they’ve delivered a taste of the album with third track “Into the Depths Unknown.” Using melodic lead guitars, varying tempos and a combination of blackened shrieks and growls (courtesy of drummer Tommi Ilmanen), the Finns cut through the murky death/doom and leave their recognizable mark”

– “the next step in Finnish death metal” – Two Guys Metal Reviews (US)

– “unequivocally stands above the rest” – Head-banger Reviews (US)

– “a fantastic Death Metal record” – Nattskog (UK) 9/10

– “Huge debut. Simply awesome” – Queens of Steel (Spain) 9/10

Sepulchral Curse (Finland) – Only Ashes Remain (July 31st, 2020)

Genre – Death Metal
Release Date – July 31st, 2020
Record Label – Transcending Obscurity Records

For fans of – Demilich, Convulse, Imperialist, Adramelech, Hateful, Lurk, Necrophobic, Demigod, Solothus

Sepulchral Curse are Finland’s best kept secret. They’ve retained the classic Finnish death metal traits of bands such as DemilichAdramelechConvulseDemigod and expanded upon it in a way that’s never been done before. The songs are meticulously composed, making them intricate and even unpredictable, but despite the vagaries there is an underlying groove that keeps everything together. Black metal influences seep through to add flavour to the proceedings as the songs keep undulating and showcasing different facets each time. The music ebbs and flows and the pace is always varying, as the vocalist barks and roars in tandem, depending on the mood. The album settles into murkier, doomier territories towards the end, not too dissimilar to Finnish label mates Lurk and Altar of Betelgeuze, but keeping its freshly forged sound intact through it all. This is an engrossing, fascinating album from Sepulchral Curse, one that gets better with each listen. It definitely counts as one of the best Finnish death metal albums ever produced.

Band lineup –
Tommi Ilmanen (Yawning Void) – Drums & Vocals
Kari Kankaanpää (SolothusYawning Void) – Vocals 
Jaakko Riihimäki – Guitars
Aleksi Luukka (SolothusYawning Void) – Guitars
Niilas Nissilä – Bass  

Artwork by Alex Tartsus (DepravityDe Profundis)
Layout by TG Rantanen (PaganizerHenry Kane)

Mastered by Dan Lowndes (Blood Incantation)
Logo by David Mikkelsen (Undergang)

Track listing –
1. From Within the Bowels of the Earth 
2. Swarming Blackness 
3. Into the Depths Unknown 
4. Eyes Inside 
5. Church of Loss 
6. Dead Stars Drawing Spirals 
7. Maan Tuhkien Uneen

Official Bandcamp

Transcending Obscurity Site

Transcending Obscurity Official YouTube Channel

Transcending Obscurity Records Facebook

Sepulchral Curse Facebook

Related posts



Metal Injection Premiere: ‘Dead Stars Drawing Spirals’ by Finnish death metal band SEPULCHRAL CURSE


No Clean Singing premieres chaotic ‘Church of Loss’ by Finnish death metal band SEPULCHRAL CURSE


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More