Canadian death metal band ATRÆ BILIS announce debut release on Transcending Obscurity Records

It’s great to come across new bands that are redefining what death metal is all about – just when I thought I’d heard it all, I come across Atræ Bilis and they managed to surprise me with their constantly changing mix of different death metal styles. This is for fans of dissonant, brutal and technical death metal while not adhering to any particular one for too long. Perhaps just one song wouldn’t suffice to understand their sound but we’re leading with the song we used for our label sampler, Ectopian, which you can listen to on Bandcamp and YouTube, while another official video comes out via No Clean Singing later in the day.

Atræ Bilis (Canada) – Divinihility (August 14th, 2020)

Genre – Death Metal
Release Date – August 14th, 2020
Record Label – Transcending Obscurity Records

For fans of – Gorguts, Atheist, Suffocation, Depravity, Morbid Angel, Dying Fetus, Death, Ulcerate

Atræ Bilis from Canada are ingesting the best elements of all the styles of death metal and spewing forth an amalgam that turns the genre inside out. There is no template for their kind of music. It’s wildly unpredictable but remains coherent and catchy despite it all. It has traces of technical death, brutal death, dark death and even dissonant death, with a tinge of melody and atmosphere to top things off. This is an intense shapeshifter of an album that remains engrossing from start to finish, without losing the core sound and aesthetics. The album feels like an exercise in what’s great about the genre without adhering to a particular style for too long and thereby sidestepping its trappings too. ‘Divinihility’ will mark a new chapter in engaging, furious, forward-thinking death metal that sets the tone for other similar-minded bands on the label such as DepravityCutterred FleshReplicant and more.

Band lineup –
Brendam Campbell – Bass
Jordan Berglund – Vocals
Luka Govednik – Drums
David Stepanavicius – Guitars

Artwork by Adam Burke (ImperialistTemple of Void)

Track listing –
1. Gnode
2. Sulphur Curtain
3. Phantom Veins Trumpet
4. Ectopian
5. Upon the Shoulders of Havayoth
6. A Ceremony of Sectioning

Official Bandcamp

Transcending Obscurity Site

Transcending Obscurity Official YouTube Channel

Transcending Obscurity Records Facebook

Atrae Bilis Facebook

Related posts

ATRÆ BILIS – Vancouver Tech-Death Metal Quartet Premieres “Open The Effigy” Video Via Slam Worldwide


ATRÆ BILIS – Entire Apexapien LP From Vancouver Tech-Death Metal Quartet Now Streaming; Album To See Release Friday Through 20 Buck Spin


ATRÆ BILIS – Vancouver Tech-Death Metal Outfit Releases “To Entomb The Ætherworld” Guitar/Drums Playthrough Video And Single; Apexapien LP Nears Release Through 20 Buck Spin


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More