ROPE SECT set release date for IRON BONEHEAD debut album, reveal new video – features guest vocals by Mat McNerney (HEXVESSEL/GRAVE PLEASURES)

Iron Bonehead Productions sets August 12th as the international release date for Rope Sect‘s highly anticipated debut album, The Great Flood, on CD and vinyl LP formats.

Germany’s Rope Sect quietly but auspiciously debuted in 2017 with their first EP, Personae Ingratae, released by Iron Bonehead. While something of a “dark horse” for the label, Rope Sect‘s disarmingly Spartan style of deathrock soon found fervent followers around the globe, and word-of-mouth momentum built from there. Further proving that there were yet further twists to the trio’s idiosyncratic sound, the Proselytes 7″ followed later in 2017 for Iron BoneheadRope Sect also took the stage thereafter, supporting the esteemed likes of Grave Pleasures and King Dude among others.

With almost graceful ease, Rope Sect deliver their stunning debut album, aptly titled The Great Flood. Indeed, this first full-length floods the listener with a vast array of sounds and textures, paradoxically pulled tighter and in a more monochromatic manner. It is a record of stark contrasts, subtly drawn together: more delicate vs. more driving, more melody vs. more motorik, shimmering atmosphere vs. clanging minimalism, sharp stabs vs. smooth caresses. Each of these ten songs feels like something old – an old song, an old feeling, an old friend – brought back to life and revamped into a ghost of itself, perversely inviting but portending great gloom ‘n’ doom. And while there might’ve been trace elements of black metal across Rope Sect‘s prior short-lengths, here on The Great Flood, that’s all excised in favor of simply BLACK – and the boundless colors absorbed (and reconstituted) therein. The sum emphasis is on the SONGS, and these are all anti-anthems worth singing…or not. Rope Sect, now more ever, are existing in their own bleak and brilliantly rarefied world.

And birds of a dark (and rarefied) feather flock together: Mat “Kvohst” McNerney (Hexvessel/Grave Pleasures) contributes lyrics and guest vocals on two tracks. Completed by icy-yet-warm mastering courtesy of Horrendous’ Damian Herring, Rope Sect‘s The Great Flood will for sure be a debut album for the (dark) ages.

Begin the lonely trudge into those dark ages with a video for the brand-new track “Hiraeth” HERE at Iron Bonehead‘s official YouTube channel. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Rope Sect’s The Great Flood

1. Divide et Impera
2. Rope of the Just
3. Eleutheria
4. Prison of You
5. The Underground Paradise
6. Hiraeth
7. Flood Flower
8. Non Serviemus
9. Issohadores
10. Dilluvian Darkness


Related posts

ROPE SECT stream new IRON BONEHEAD album at


ROPE SECT set release date for new IRON BONEHEAD EP, reveal first video


ROPE SECT stream IRON BONEHEAD debut album at “Revolver” magazine’s website


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More