SERPENT OMEGA – Swedish Doom/Sludge Metal Unit To Release II Full-Length Via Icons Creating Evil Art September 4th

[photo by Jonas Husbom]

Swedish doom/sludge metal unit, SERPENT OMEGA, will release their II full-length via Icons Creating Evil Art September 4th.

Melding sludge, doom, metal, and crust into a unique and sordid brew SERPENT OMEGA‘s self-titled debut full-length sold out in a few short months back in 2013. Long-awaited sequel, appropriately titled II, was recorded in Stockholm, Sweden by Jonsson at Dark Prod Studios, mixed at Studio Humbucker by Robert Pehrsson (Runemagick, Death Breath, Robert Pehrsson’s Humbucker), and mastered by Magnus Lindberg Productions (Cult Of Luna). To suggest the final product is grotesquely heavy and good is an understatement. With II, the Stockholm-based quartet offers a perfect soundtrack to what may well be the end of the world as we know it. It’s all here: despair, hopelessness, fury, and perhaps a glimmer of bloody triumph and distant hope in the inevitability of a new beginning. The songs are a pile of bleak upon bleaker riffs that move from a slow and low crawl into d-beat and black metal territory with a smattering of NWOBHM in for good measure.

In advance of the release of IISERPENT OMEGA has unveiled first single “Orog Nuur” for public feasting. A deceptively simple statement, the tracks opens with guitarist Jonsson’s plodding riff that lays the groundwork for a magnificent tremolo-picked tribal bridge. It’s during this latter section, more than anywhere on this record, and ironically bookended with the phrase “there is no escape,” that triumphant and huge, filled with power and awe and resolution… but it doesn’t last.

Jonsson elaborates, “This song got its name from a lake in the Gobi Desert of Mongolia. Like nomads in a cosmic desert, we were happy to find this portal to another dimension. But we got unexpected company and not even the flames can save us. There is no escape. They breed in fire.”

Standby for II preorders to be unveiled in the weeks to come.

II Track Listing:
1. Orog Nuur
2. Land Of Darkness
3. Rivers Of Reversed
4. Through The Gates
5. Chthonic
6. At The Mountains Edge
7. Av Aska

SERPENT OMEGA is a sludge/doom metal band from Stockholm, Sweden, formed by the sole intent of mediating gargantuan earth-splitting heavy tunes. The band was vomited out of the innards of the Great Serpent in 2011, ever since exploring the beyond side of the void and worshipping the power of the Riff. The band’s current lineup features vocalist Urskogr, bassist Brief, guitarist Jonsson and newest member, drummer Peter Stjärnvind, a.k.a Fast Feet Pete (Entombed, Nifelheim, Merciless, Unanimated, Murder Squad).

Serpent Omega has played crypts to festivals, all around Scandinavia since the debut in 2013 together with bands such as High on Fire, Bongzilla, Hooded Menace, and Grand Magus. New album II will be performed live for the first time in Stockholm at Macken Festival 2020.

Related posts

Swedish doom/sludge metal outfit SERPENT OMEGA release new single Land of Darkness from their upcoming sophomore album II


Swedish doom/sludge metal outfit SERPENT OMEGA release first new single Orog Nuur and announce release date for their sophomore album ‘II’


Icons Creating Evil Art announce the signing of Swedish doom/sludge metal outfit SERPENT OMEGA and announce plans for the sophomore album ‘II’


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More