VELVET DARKNESS celebrates two years of album with virtual collaboration

Members of Jet Jaguar, The Wicked Ones, Driven and more gather together

Mexican heavy metal band Velvet Darkness premiered on YouTube and Facebook a collaborative music video for their song “Nothing But Glory”, from their album of the same name, released two years ago.

In order to celebrate this milestone, this quarantine performance was recorded by band members from their homes in the State of Mexico, and keyboardist John Rai from Osaka, Japan. Singers from 8 metal bands lent their voices to the first music video filmed for this song.

Velvet Darkness & Friends – Nothing But Glory | 2 years of NBG


All singers featured on “Nothing But Glory” have played along the band since the album’s release, or have developed a great friendship with them during this period.

*In order of appearance

Lalo Largher makes a new appearance on a Velvet Darkness song after singing duet on “Howling Hearts”, which belongs to Nothing But GloryLucrecia Ang has always been an important part of the band; since her departure in 2016, she has had several live features during concerts, and has writing credits on Nothing But Glory.

Mireya Mendoza, beside singing, is best known for her voice acting roles, which include Latin American dubbing for The Big Bang Theory, The Princess and the Frog, several Amanda Seyfried and Jessica Chastain roles, among others.

Maxx Mendoza is frontman for heavy/glam act Jet Jaguar, winners of Wacken Open Air 2017 Metal Battle, being the first Mexican artists getting such recognition.


Nothing But Glory was released on June 8, 2018 as an independent effort under management by Treehouse Entertainment. Two singles were released prior the album’s release: “Howling Hearts” (with Lalo Largher) in February and “Break The Ice” in May.

In 2019, the band premiered their first official music video. “Death Eaters”, a Harry Potter themed song, was originally included in their debut EP Delusion and later on rerecorded for bonus track for Nothing But Glory. For the album’s first anniversary, the band released a remix of “Break The Ice” by Mendex, and later on rerecorded “God of War” after Altair joined.

Velvet Darkness are:

  • Kate Michaels – vocals
  • Charles Kray – bass, backing vocals
  • Joe SaraF – guitar, backing vocals
  • Altair – guitar
  • John Rai – keyboards
  • Rob “Teko” Yanez – drums

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.