Guitarist Kevin Storm Announces New FLEETBURNER Project & Debuts Video

Session guitarist KEVIN STORM, known for his work with bands such as VULTURE INDUSTRIES, KALMAH, EQUILIBRIUM, SHINING to name but a few, has today revealed the details of his new project FLEETBURNER, and the upcoming self-titled debut album which will be released on Butler Records

The idea of forming FLEETBURNER came about when both Storm and drummer  Tomas Myklebust (MISTUR, GALAR, KABARET MAKABER, ROADKILL) were on tour with VULTURE INDUSTRIES as session musicians, and ended the tour agreeing that they should form a band together.

With Netherlands’ Storm on Guitars, Keys, Soundscapes, Production and Story, and Norway’s  Myklebust on Drums and percussion and additional sounds, FLEETBURNER‘S multi-national ranks were soon expanded with the arrival of US vocalist Ken Simerly, Finland’s  Veli-Matti Kananen (KALMAH, VINTERGATA) on Keys,  and Sweden’s Peter Iwers (ex-IN FLAMES) on bass.

According to Storm, “Fleetburner” is a concept album about “leaving everything behind, burning all ships in your wake, to sail towards…everything but this”.  The main protagonist, and namesake of both the band and the album, is The Fleetburner,  who has set sail towards no particular destination but with the goal of steering  away from pain, and pursued by an ever-growing fleet of blood-spillers who want what he has, without truly knowing what that is. 

The albums storyline encompasses the entire lifespan of the protagonist who starts out as an insecure,  runaway child, and develops into the voyage of a man facing his both his inner, as well as his external, demons. The first track from the album, which the band has chosen to debut as a video is “Open Water”, which sees The Fleetburner reach open water “after having fled the land-based world, where fires rage, war is waged and man cannot escape the infinite cycle of pain and human error“.  It is a deeply emotional and personal song that deals with carrying the burden of your fellow man and the taking of what was never given”.

With Artwork by Kevin Storm and Motion Graphics and lyric video by Martin “Captain Morgue” Vrigsjo Staflin of MVS Visual, the video for “Open Water” can be seen at
Whilst the track itself can be streamed or downloaded at

Mixed & mastered by Hans Pieters at  The Peoples Noise,  with Vinyl Edit by Renzo van Riemsdijk at,  “Fleetburner” is Produced by Kevin Storm at the Stormstudio.  Drum edits are by Daniel Medley at  Ten South Sounds.  With Artwork by stuz0r and Logo by Gustavo Sazes track listing for “Fleetburner” is as follows:

 I: The Land
II: The Beach
III: The Breakwater
IV: Open Water
V: The Fleet
VI: The Passenger
VII: The Deck
VIII: The Course
IX: Below the Waves
X: The Deep
XI: The Endless

“Fleetburner” includes guest appearances from Agnete M Kirkevaag (MADDER MORTEM) – Additional Vocals, Voice of the Ocean, Caleb Bergen (SLEEPWALKERS) – Additional Vocals, Voice of the Ocean, Nils Courbaron (SIRENIA, THINK OF A NEW KIND) – Guitar solo on tracks II and IX, and Christopher Amott (DARK TRANQUILITY) – Guitar solo on track X.  Along with Maria Scream Arkhipova (ARKONA), Joni Snoro (EPHEMERALD) and  Nils Groth (HERETOIR) who make up the Voices of the Fleet on “The Endless”

Set for release in September (exact date to be announced), “Fleetburner” will be available in CD and Digipak formats, including a double-sided artwork poster, and as a Gatefold, double LP which will include a large double sided artwork poster, and an interior design exclusive to the vinyl release, by Stuz0r.

More information about FLEETBURNER can be found at the following:


Related posts

FLEETBURNER (feat. Members of Dark Tranquility, ex-In Flames) unveils harrowing new video “Below The Waves”


FLEETBURNER (feat. Members of Dark Tranquility, ex-In Flames) – Release Official Video For “The Passenger”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More