Cinematic Prog ALIZARIN Premiere Single ‘Heirloom’ via TheProgSpace; New Album Out July 10th

L-R: Jon Damon (Drums) | Josh Kay (Guitars & Vocals) | Avelino Ramirez (Keyboards) | Terran Fernandez (Bass & Backing Vocals) 
Photographer credits: Rob Aft & Christian Robles

Cinematic rock metallers Alizarin announce they will be releasing their sophomore album “The Last Semblance” on July 10, 2020 and are excited to share the full length’s third single ‘Heirloom’. The track is one of the heavier, more energetic, and harder-hitting songs with some of the strongest vocal parts and strangest grooves on the album. 

Today, the band has teamed up with TheProgSpace for the premiere of ‘Heirloom’ HERE.

Vocalist/guitarist Josh Kay explains the track in further detail:

“It is one of the most heavy-hitting, catchy, and melodic tunes that also captures many of the approaches we incorporate. “Heirloom” almost steps into power metal territory, while still holding a firm footing in groove-oriented progressive metal. Thematically, the song considers the timeline of humanity and our intellectual evolution. It looks at humans as emotionally charged and proud “adolescents” of sorts on this timeline, with a long way to go to find a more harmonious existence, if that time ever arrives. “
Born out of the forward-thinking inclinations of guitarist/vocalist Josh Kay in late 2017, Alizarin is on a mission to explore unconventional rock music. In addition to Kay, the Los Angeles based group consists of Jon Damon on drums, Terran Fernandez on bass guitar and Avelino Ramirez on keyboard. 

Alizarin released their first full-length album, titled “Cast Zenith”, in 2018 and is preparing to release their new album “The Last Semblance” in summer 2020. Unlike their strictly instrumental debut record, this follow up release features prominent vocals throughout. Rich harmonies and baritone resonance from Kay’s voice add a new dimension to the music, allowing the band’s sound to expand to truly uncharted territory.  

“The Last Semblance” covers a wide spectrum of sonic landscapes and emphasizes the melodic journey over deliberate technique. Although Kay is the chief songwriter of Alizarin, the compositions on the new record focus on a balance of each instrument, with less of an emphasis on the domination of guitar solos and a greater exploration of what each musician is capable of. The album draws influence from such groups as Porcupine Tree, Haken, Alice in Chains, Opeth, Portishead, and many more. The results are a sound that is challenging to define, pensive, and often at the crossroads of melody and dissonance.  

Kay adds:

“The album is a work of cinematic progressive metal, centered around brooding melodies and wrapped in epic compositions. There are influences from many styles of music, many beyond metal as well. The music is very melody-driven, with technical aspects in moderation woven into the larger song structures. The chords, melodies, and arrangements are meant to be unpredictable, unconventional, and compelling while remaining extremely listenable and catchy.

Album pre-order HERE along with an immediate download of singles ‘Heirloom’‘Velvet Margin’, and ‘Elegy Simulacra’ plus their previous release “Cast Zenith” available on Spotify and iTunes.

Track Listing:
1. Elegy Simulacra (7:55)
2. Fathom (6:53)
3. A Wreath of Temperance (6:40)
4. Velvet Margin (5:12)
5. Heirloom (5:35)
6. Zero Sum (7:03)
7. Attenuation (10:36)
8. The Ivory Silo (8:48)
Album Length: 58:46

Album Credits:
• All songs performed by: Alizarin  
• All songs written by: Josh Kay
• Produced by: Josh Kay and Alizarin
• Mixed by: Josh Kay
• Mastered by: Jamie King
• Album Artwork by: Josh Kay

Album and Live Band Line Up:
Josh Kay – Guitars and vocals
Jon Damon – Drums  
Terran Fernandez – Bass and backing vocals
Avelino Ramirez – Keyboards

For more info:

Related posts

Cinematic Prog ALIZARIN Streaming New Album “The Last Semblance”


Cinematic Prog ALIZARIN Premiere Single ‘Velvet Margin’ via Metal-Rules


Cinematic Prog ALIZARIN Premiere Single ‘Elegy Simulacra’ Off Upcoming Album via MetalInsider


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More